University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate

Academic Calendars CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degree Awards SEC Meeting Schedule Senate Agendas & Minutes Senate Meeting Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members Senator Guide


Urbana-Champaign Senate Meeting
April 17, 2000

The organizational meeting of the 2000-01 Senate was called to order at 3:10p.m. in Foellinger Auditorium, with Chancel≠lor Michael Aiken presiding.

Senate Council Report

Senator Robert Rich (LAW), Senate Council Chair, reported that the student senators elected the following to the 2000-01 Senate Council: Wade Ackerman, Kelly Coyle, and Jason Lee.

After todayís meeting, the 2000-01 faculty committee chairs will elect from among themselves seven senators to serve on Senate Council.Ballots will be prepared based on each eligible chairís willingness to serve if elected.[1]

He then announced that the following senators had agreed to serve as tellers: Kal Alston (EDUC), Lanny Arvan (CBA), Justin Clark (ENGR), Carl Jones (VMED), Fran Marcucci (LAS) and Heidi Wells (FAA).

Chancellorís Remarks

The Chancellor expressed thanks to new senators and committee nominees for their willingness to serve in this important capacity.

Reports for Information of the Senate

Chancellor Aiken presented the following reports for information; there was no discussion.He congratulated the Senate Council officers and the members of the Committee on Committees on their election.

04/17/00-01SC.01.01*Report of the Senate Clerk for the Election of Senate Council Chair and Vice-Chair and for Members of the Committee on Committees

04/17/00-02SP.01.01*Faculty and Student Electorate and Senator Distribution

Bill Williamson asked how the apportionment of graduate student senators was determined; it appeared to him that this constituency was somewhat under-represented.Senate Clerk Robert Damrau indicated that an imbalance exists; the apportionment will be rectified before next yearís elections.

Proposals for Action

04/17/00-03The Presiding Officer presented for action SP.01.02*, 2000-01 Urbana-Champaign Senate Membership.Senator Robert Fossum (LAS), Statutes Committee Chair, moved its approval.

04/17/00-04Upon voice vote, it was approved.

04/17/00-05Chancellor Aiken presented for action CC.01.01*, Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference.There were no floor nominations; nominations were declared closed.The following were elected for three-year terms expiring in 2003:

Thomas F. Conry

Robert Fossum

Robert F. Rich


04/17/00-06The Chancellor presented for action CC.01.02*, Nominations for Membership on Standing Committees of the Senate and the Military Education Council.Senator Thomas Conry (ENGR), Committee on Committees Chair, on behalf of his committee, moved approval of the slate.There were no floor nominations and nominations were declared closed.

04/17/00-07By voice vote, the slate of committee nominees was approved.

04/17/00-08Chancellor Aiken presented for action SC.01.02*, Election of One Member of the Urbana Delegation to the University Senates Conference to Serve on the Senate Council.Ballots were distributed, and the tellers reported the following vote totals:

Gordon Baker


Robert Fossum


Richard Schacht


A runoff election between the top two vote-getters was declared as no nominee received a majority of the 113 votes cast.Ballots were distributed, and the tellers reported the following vote totals: Geneva Belford (Engr) 41 Donald Uchtmann (Aces) 41

04/17/00-09Since a majority vote was received on the first ballot, Senator Fossum was declared elected.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:45 p.m.

Robert C. Damrau, Clerk of the Senate
*Filed with the Senate Clerk and incorporated by reference in these Minutes.

[1]The chairs elected were:Geneva Belford (GUP), Vernon Burton (EP), Karen Chapman-Novakofski (CC), Michael Murphy (FB), Jan Novakofski (CO), Wes Seitz (HD), and Joseph Stucki (AFT).