University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate

Academic Calendars CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degree Awards SEC Meeting Schedule Senate Agendas & Minutes Senate Meeting Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members Senator Guide

Urbana-Champaign Senate Organizational Meeting
April 16, 2001

The organizational meeting of the 2001-02 Senate was called to order at 4:10 p.m. in Foellinger Auditorium, with Chancellor Michael Aiken presiding.


Senator Robert Rich (LAW), Senate Council Chair, reported that the student senators elected the following to the 2001-02 Senate Council: Chris Dillion (CBA) and Dan Schwarz (GRAD), with one (1) student to be elected.

After today's meeting, the 2001-02 faculty committee chairs will elect from among themselves seven senators to serve on Senate Council. Ballots will be prepared based on each eligible chair's willingness to serve if elected.

He then announced that the following senators had agreed to serve as tellers: Richard Jerrard (LAS), Robert Darmody (ACES), Priscilla Yu (LIBR), Chang Liu (ENGR), Bill Williamson (CBA) and Greg Girolami (LAS).


The Chancellor expressed thanks to new senators and committee nominees for their willingness to serve in this important capacity.


Chancellor Aiken presented the following reports for information; there was no discussion. He congratulated the Senate Council officers and the members of the Committee on Committees on their election.

04/16/01-01 SC.02.01* Report of the Senate Clerk for the Election of Senate Council Chair and Vice-Chair and for Members of the Committee on Committees

04/16/01-02 SP.02.02* Faculty and Student Electorate and Senator Distribution

Bill Williamson asked how the apportionment of graduate student senators was determined; it appeared to him that this constituency was somewhat under-represented. Senate Clerk Robert Damrau conceded that an imbalance exists; the apportionment will be rectified before next year's elections.


04/16/01-03 The Chancellor presented for action SP.02.01*, 2001-02 Urbana-Champaign Senate Membership. Senator Robert Fossum (LAS), Statutes Committee Chair, moved its approval.

04/16/01-04 Upon voice vote, it was approved.

04/16/01-05 Chancellor Aiken presented for action CC.02.01*, Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference. There were no floor nominations; nominations were declared closed. The following were elected for three-year terms expiring in 2004:

Edwin Herricks (ENGR)
Nancy O'Brien (LIBR)
Bryan White (ACES)

04/16/01-06 The Chancellor presented for action CC.02.02*, Nominations for Membership on Standing Committees of the Senate and the Military Education Council. Senator Karen Chapman-Novakofski (ACES), Committee on Committees Chair, on behalf of her committee, amended the report to indicate that Senator Henrique Reis (ENGR) was nominated for Campus Operations Chair. There were no additional floor nominations and nominations were declared closed. Senator Stephen Kaufman (MED) questioned the large number of committee chair nominees from the College of Engineering. Chapman-Novakofski noted 2 of the 6 chairs from Engineering were completing the second year of their term as chair, and 2 others were slated for a 1-year term only. She believed with chairs coming from 5 different colleges and the Library, the slate had reasonable disciplinary balance.

04/16/01-07 By voice vote, the slate of committee nominees was approved, as amended.

04/16/01-08 Chancellor Aiken presented for action SC.02.02*, Election of One Member of the Urbana Delegation to the University Senates Conference to Serve on the Senate Council. Ballots were distributed, and the tellers reported the following vote totals:

Kal Alston (EDUC) 21
Edwin Herricks (ENGR) 14
Nancy O'Brien (LIBR) 49
Terry Weech (LISC) 12

04/16/01-09 Since a majority vote was received on the first ballot, Senator O'Brien was declared elected.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:35 p.m.

Robert C. Damrau, Clerk of the Senate
*Filed with the Senate Clerk and incorporated by reference in these Minutes.