University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate

Academic Calendars CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degree Awards SEC Meeting Schedule Senate Agendas & Minutes Senate Meeting Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members Senator Guide

Urbana-Champaign Senate Organizational Meeting
April 21, 2003

The organizational meeting of the 2003-04 Senate was called to order at 3:55p.m. in Foellinger Auditorium, with Provost Richard Herman presiding in the absence of Chancellor Nancy Cantor.

Senate Executive Committee Report

Senator Robert Fossum (LAS), Senate Executive Committee (SEC) Chair, reported that during today’s meeting, the Senate will elect three members of the 2003-2004 SEC from among Senate committee chairs.Ballots have been prepared based on each chair’s willingness to serve if elected.In accord with revisions to the Senate Bylaws, approved by the Senate on February 17, 2003, the top five from the preliminary election will be placed on the final ballot.The top three from the final ballot will be declared elected.

Fossum then announced that the following senators had agreed to serve as tellers: Henrique Reis (ENGR), John Prussing (ENGR), Felipe Hillard (BUS) and Neel Sheth (ENGR).

Chancellor’s Remarks

There were no remarks.

Reports for Information of the Senate

Provost Herman presented the following reports for information.

04/21/03-01SC.04.01*Report of the Senate Clerk for the Election of Senate Executive Committee Chair and Vice-Chair and for Members of the Committee on Committees

04/21/03-02SP.04.02*Faculty and Student Electorate and Senator Distribution

Proposals for Action

04/21/03-03The Provost presented for action SP.04.01*, 2003-04 Urbana-Champaign Senate Membership.Senator Joseph Finnerty (CBA), Statutes Committee Chair, moved its approval.

04/21/03-04Upon voice vote, it was approved.

04/21/03-05The Presiding Officer presented for action CC.04.01*, Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference.Senator Belden Fields (LAS) nominated Senator Al Kagan (LIBR); Kagan indicated his willingness to serve.There were no other floor nominations; nominations were declared closed.Tellers distributed ballots and reported the following vote totals:

Joseph Finnerty (BUS) 57
Barclay Jones (ENGR) 63
Al Kagan (LIBR) 38
Richard Schacht (LAS) 54

Senators Finnerty, Jones and Schacht were declared elected.

04/21/03-06Dr. Herman presented for action CC.04.02*, Nominations for Membership on Standing Committees of the Senate and the Military Education Council.Senator John Prussing (ENGR), Committee on Committees Chair, on behalf of his committee, moved approval of the slate.Senator Michael Buzecky (LAS) self-nominated for a listed student vacancy on the Conference on Conduct Governance.There were no additional floor nominations and nominations were declared closed.

04/21/03-07By voice vote, the slate of committee nominees was approved, as amended.

04/21/03-08The Provost presented for action SC.04.02*, Election of One Member of the Urbana Delegation to the University Senates Conference to Serve on the Senate Executive Committee. There were no floor nominations;Senator Nancy O’Brien (LIBR) was the only candidate listed on the ballot.

04/21/03-09Senator O’Brien was declared elected.

Ballots included in the meeting packet for the election of three at-large committee chairs to the Senate Executive Committee were collected, and the tellers reported the following vote totals:

R. Linn Belford


Nicholas Burbules


Harry Hilton


Barclay Jones


Mary Mallory


Henrique Reis


Roger Shanks


Emily Watts


Bruce Wicks


A runoff election between the top five vote-getters was declared.Ballots were distributed, and the tellers reported the following vote totals:

R. Linn Belford


Harry Hilton


Barclay Jones


Mary Mallory


Emily Watts


Senators Jones, Mallory, and Watts were declared elected.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:40 p.m.

Robert C. Damrau, Clerk of the Senate
*Filed with the Senate Clerk and incorporated by reference in these Minutes.