University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate

Academic Calendars CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degree Awards SEC Meeting Schedule Senate Agendas & Minutes Senate Meeting Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members Senator Guide

Urbana-Champaign Senate Organizational Meeting
April 19, 2004

The organizational meeting of the 2004-05 Senate was called to order at 4:15p.m. in Foellinger Auditorium, with Provost Richard Herman presiding.

Senate Executive Committee Report

Senator Michael Grossman (ACES), Senate Executive Committee (SEC) Chair, said that during todayís meeting, the Senate will elect three members of the 2004-2005 SEC from among Senate committee chairs.Ballots have been prepared based on each chairís willingness to serve if elected.In accord with revisions to the Senate Bylaws, approved by the Senate on February 17, 2003, the top five from the preliminary election will be placed on the final ballot.The top three from the final ballot will be declared elected.

Grossman announced the following had agreed to serve as tellers: Bryan White (ACES), Robert Plummer (LAS), Douglas Cruitt (ACES) and Laura Tyler (LAS).

Chancellorís Remarks

There were no remarks.

Reports for Information of the Senate

Provost Herman presented the following reports for information.

04/19/04-01SC.05.01*Report of the Senate Clerk for the Election of Senate Executive Committee Chair and Vice-Chair and for Members of the Committee on Committees

04/19/04-02SP.05.02*Faculty and Student Electorate and Senator Distribution

Proposals for Action

04/19/04-03The Provost presented SP.05.01*, 2004-05 Urbana-Champaign Senate Membership.Senator Joseph Finnerty (BUS), Statutes Committee Chair, moved its approval.

04/19/04-04Upon voice vote, it was approved.

04/19/04-05The Presiding Officer presented for action CC.05.01*, Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference (USC).There were no floor nominations; nominations were declared closed.

Senators Henson, Mallory and Wheeler were declared elected.

04/19/04-06Provost Herman presented for action SC.05.02*, Election of One Member of the Urbana Delegation to the University Senates Conference to Serve on the Senate Executive Committee.There were no floor nominations;nominations were declared closed.Ballots included in the meeting packet for this election were collected, and the tellers reported the following vote totals:

Barclay Jones


Matthew Wheeler


04/19/04-07Senator Jones was declared elected.

Ballots included in the packet for the election of three at-large committee chairs to the Senate Executive Committee were collected, and the tellers reported the following preliminary vote totals:

R. Linn Belford


Peter Goldsmith


Harry Hilton


Michael Hirschi


Peter Loeb


Henrique Reis


In accord with Senate Bylaws, a runoff election between the top five vote-getters was declared.Ballots were distributed, and the tellers reported the following vote totals:

R. Linn Belford


Peter Goldsmith


Harry Hilton


Peter Loeb


Henrique Reis


Senators Goldsmith, Hilton and Loeb were declared elected.

04/19/04-08Dr. Herman presented for action CC.06.02*, Nominations for Membership on Standing Committees of the Senate and the Military Education Council.Senator John Prussing (ENGR), Committee on Committees Chair, moved approval of the slate.Senator John Campbell self-nominated for the Budget Committee.There were no additional floor nominations and nominations were declared closed.

Ballots were distributed for the student positions on the Budget Committee, and the tellers reported the following vote totals:

Adam Blahnik


John Campbell


Robert Plummer


Senators Blahnik and Plummer were declared elected.

04/19/04-09By voice vote, the slate of committee nominees was approved.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

Robert C. Damrau, Clerk of the Senate
* Filed with the Senate Clerk and incorporated by reference in these Minutes.