University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate

Academic Calendars CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degree Awards SEC Meeting Schedule Senate Agendas & Minutes Senate Meeting Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members Senator Guide

Urbana-Champaign Senate Organizational Meeting
April 23, 2007

The organizational meeting of the 2007-08 Senate was called to order at 3:15 p.m. in Levis Faculty Center, with Provost Linda Katehi presiding.

Senate Executive Committee Report

Senator Vernon Burton (LAS), 2006-07 Senate Executive Committee (SEC) Chair, requested a moment of silence from the assembly to acknowledge the victims of the recent massacre at Virginia Tech University.

Senator Burton said that during today’s meeting, the Senate will elect three members of the 2007-2008 SEC from among Senate committee chairs, as well as the University Senates Conference (USC) representative to the SEC.  Ballots have been prepared based on each person’s willingness to serve if elected.

Burton reported that student senators have elected Rob Main (BUS), Justin Randall (LAS), and Grant Ullrich (GRAD) to the 2007-08 SEC.

Burton announced the following had agreed to serve as tellers: Jason McCarley (LAS), Jeff Brawn (LAS), Katie Dunne (LAS) and John Prussing (ENGR).

Chancellor’s Remarks

There were no remarks.

Reports for Information of the Senate

Provost Katehi presented the following reports for information.

04/23/07-01          SC.08.01*, Results of the Election of Senate Executive Committee Chair and Vice-Chair and for Members of the Committee on Committees
04/23/07-02          SP.08.01*, Faculty and Student Electorate and Senator Distribution
04/23/07-03          SP.08.02*, 2007-08 Urbana-Champaign Senate Membership.

Proposals for Action

04/23/07-04          The Presiding Officer presented for action CC.08.01*, Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference (USC).  Senator John Prussing (ENGR) nominated Senator Barclay Jones (ENGR); Jones indicated willingness to serve.  There were no other floor nominations; nominations were declared closed.  Tellers collected ballots and reported the following vote totals:

Nicholas Burbules


Barclay Jones


Al Kagan


Nancy O’Brien


Senators Burbules, Jones and O’Brien were declared elected.

04/23/07-05          The Provost presented for action SC.08.02*, Election of One Member of the Urbana Delegation to the University Senates Conference to Serve on the Senate Executive Committee.   There were no floor nominations;  nominations were declared closed.  Ballots were collected; tellers reported the following vote totals:

Barclay Jones


Nancy O’Brien


04/23/07-06          Senator O’Brien was declared elected.

Ballots were collected for the election of three at-large committee chairs to the Senate Executive Committee; tellers reported the following vote totals:

Joseph Finnerty


Joseph Goldberg


Michael Hirschi


Barclay Jones


Tom Ulen


Senators Goldberg and Jones and Professor Finnerty were declared elected.

04/23/07-07          Dr. Katehi presented for action CC.08.02*, Nominations for Membership on Standing Committees of the Senate and the Military Education Council.  Senator Kim Graber (AHS), Committee on Committees Chair, moved approval of the slate.  There were no floor nominations and nominations were declared closed.

04/23/07-08          By voice vote, the slate of committee nominees was approved.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:20 p.m.

Robert C. Damrau, Clerk of the Senate
* Filed with the Senate Clerk and incorporated by reference in these Minutes.