University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate

Academic Calendars CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degree Awards SEC Meeting Schedule Senate Agendas & Minutes Senate Meeting Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members Senator Guide

Urbana-Champaign Senate Organizational Meeting
April 21, 2008

The organizational meeting of the 2008-09 Senate was called to order at 3:15 p.m. in Levis Faculty Center, with Chancellor Richard Herman presiding.

Senate Executive Committee Report

Senator Nicholas Burbules (EDUC), 2007-08 Senate Executive Committee (SEC) Chair, said that during today’s meeting, the Senate will elect three members of the 2008-2009 SEC from among Senate committee chairs, as well as the University Senates Conference (USC) representative to the SEC.  Ballots have been prepared based on each person’s willingness to serve if elected.

Burbules announced the following had agreed to serve as tellers: Harry Hilton (ENGR), Abbas Aminmansour (FAA), Carlos Ramirez-Rosa (LAS), Brad Tran (ENGR), and Lynne Rudasill (LIBR).

Chancellor’s Remarks

The Chancellor congratulated all those who have been elected.

Reports for Information of the Senate

Chancellor Herman presented the following reports for information.

04/21/08-01          SC.09.01*, Results of the Election for Senate Executive Committee Chair and Vice Chair and for Faculty Members of the Committee on Committees
04/21/08-02          SP.09.01*, Faculty and Student Electorate and Senator Distribution
04/21/08-03          SP.09.02*, 2008-09 Urbana-Champaign Senate Membership.

Proposals for Action

04/21/08-04          The Presiding Officer presented for action CC.09.01*, Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference (USC).  Senator Kim Graber (AHS), Committee on Committees Chair, moved approval of the slate.  There were no floor nominations; nominations were declared closed.

04/21/08-05          By voice vote, the slate was approved.

04/21/08-06          Chancellor Richard Herman presented for action SC.09.02*, Election of One Member of the Urbana Delegation to the University Senates Conference to Serve on the Senate Executive Committee.   There were no floor nominations;  nominations were declared closed.  Preliminary ballots were collected; tellers reported the following vote totals:

Joseph Finnerty


Barclay Jones


Terry Weech


Matthew Wheeler


Since no candidate received a majority of the votes on the first ballot, runoff ballots were distributed with the names of the two candidates who received the highest number of votes on the first ballot; tellers reported the following vote totals:


Joseph Finnerty


Matthew Wheeler




04/21/08-07          Senator Wheeler was declared elected.

04/21/08-08          Dr. Herman presented for action CC.09.02*, Nominations for Membership on Standing Committees of the Senate and the Military Education Council.  Senator Graber moved approval of the slate.  There were no floor nominations and nominations were declared closed.

04/21/08-09          By voice vote, the slate of committee nominees was approved.

04/21/08-10          The Chancellor presented for action SS.09.01*, Election of Committee Chairs to the Senate Executive Committee; tellers reported the following vote totals:

Mary Arends-Kuenning


Joseph Finnerty


Joseph Goldberg


Tom Overbye


Alex Scheeline




04/21/08-11          Senators Arends-Kuenning, Finnerty, and Overbye were declared elected.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:15 p.m.

Robert C. Damrau, Clerk of the Senate
* Filed with the Senate Clerk and incorporated by reference in these Min­utes.