Minutes Urbana-Champaign Senate Organizational Meeting April 23, 2012

The organizational meeting of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Senate was called to order at 3:19 pm on the 3rd floor of the Levis Faculty Center with Chancellor Phyllis Wise presiding and Professor Emeritus H. George Friedman, Jr. as Parliamentarian.

Senate Executive Committee Report

Faculty senator Matthew Wheeler (ACES), Chair of the Senate Executive Committee (SEC) reminded senators that nominations from the floor must include the nominee's willingness to serve, and the college the nominee represents. In addition, for nominations to the University Senates Conference (USC), the nomination should include a short biographical statement. Chair Wheeler read the names of outgoing and proposed incoming committee chairs. The committee chairs were asked to stand when their name was announced.

Tellers for the meeting were Nicholas Burbules (EDUC), John Hart (ENGR), Kathryn Martensen (AP), Brock Gebhardt (LAS), Drew Tavernor (FAA), and Mary Mallory (LIBR).

Chancellor's Remarks

Chancellor Phyllis Wise welcomed all newly elected senators and expressed thanks to continuing senators.

Wise noted that Professor Mathew Wheeler has been serving as the Faculty Representative on the Athletic Board for the past ten years. She indicated that several NCAA and Big 10 committees are in the middle of deliberations and it is important that there be continuity and include an experienced person. As Wise is new to this campus, she indicated her desire to have Professor Wheeler continue on the Athletic Board beyond the usual ten years in order to provide continuity and experience, and asked for proposed up to an additional five years, with reappointment every year to allow for flexibility.

The *Bylaws* Part E, 1. Athletic Board (c) (1) states that "The Faculty Representatives shall serve at the pleasure of the Chancellor, but for a period normally not to exceed ten years. The Senate shall approve any extensions beyond ten years."

A motion was made to extend Professor Matthew Wheeler's term as the Faculty Representative on the Athletic Board for up to an additional five years with the reappointment every year to allow for flexibility.

04/23/12-01 By voice vote, the motion to extend Professor Wheeler's term as the Faculty Representative on the Athletic Board was approved.

Proposals for Action

04/23/12-02 <u>CC.13.01</u>* Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference (USC)

Faculty senator Mary Mallory (LIBR) nominated faculty senator Joyce Tolliver (LAS) and faculty senator Kathryn Oberdeck (LAS) nominated faculty senator Stephen Taylor (FAA). Faculty Senators Tolliver (LAS) and Taylor (FAA) indicated their willingness to serve. There were no other floor nominations and nominations were declared closed.

Tellers reported the following vote totals:

Roy Campbell	ENGR	63
George Francis	LAS	54

Prasanta Kalita	ACES	46
Stephen Taylor	FAA	43
Joyce Tolliver	LAS	71

- 04/23/12-03 Faculty Senators Campbell, Francis, and Tolliver were declared elected.
- 04/23/12-04 <u>SC.13.02</u>* Election of One Member of the Urbana Delegation to the USC to Serve on the Senate Executive Committee (SEC)

There were no floor nominations and nominations were declared closed.

Preliminary ballots were collected and tellers reported the following vote totals:

George Francis	LAS	20
Kim Graber	AHS	19
Leslie Struble	ENGR	14
Joyce Tolliver	LAS	41

As no candidate received a majority of votes, runoff ballots were distributed with the names of the two candidates who received the highest number of votes.

Runoff ballots were collected and tellers reported the following vote totals:

George Francis	LAS	35
Joyce Tolliver	LAS	51

- 04/23/12-05 Faculty senator Tolliver was declared elected.
- 04/23/12-06 CC.13.02* Nominations for Membership on Standing Committees of the Senate and the Military Education Council

Faculty senator Bettina Francis (LAS) as Committee on Committees Chair moved approval of the slate of committee nominees on CC.13.02. There were no floor nominations and nominations were declared closed.

- 04/23/12-07 By voice vote, the slate of committee nominees was approved as distributed.
- 04/23/12-08 SS.13.01* Election of Committee Chairs to the Senate Executive Committee

Chancellor Wise presented the ballot of committee chairs willing to serve.

Preliminary ballots were collected and tellers reported the following vote totals:

Eric Johnson	LAW	34
Michael Biehl	VMED	29
Adrienne Dixson	EDUC	28
Harry Hilton	ENGR	33
John Kindt	BUS	29
Andreas Cangellaris	ENGR	24
Terry Weech	LISC	20
Laura Payne	AHS	19
Kevin Waspi	BUS	14
Jonathan Makela	ENGR	31

Final ballots containing the names of the five nominees receiving the highest number of votes were distributed.

Final ballots were collected and tellers reported the following vote totals:

Eric Johnson	LAW	60
Michael Biehl	VMED	45
Harry Hilton	ENGR	53
John Kindt	BUS	48
Jonathan Makela	ENGR	40

04/23/12-09 Faculty senators Johnson, Hilton, and Kindt were declared elected.

Chair of the Senate Committee on Educational Policy, Gay Miller, explained the role of the Educational Policy Committee while ballots were tallied.

Reports for Information

- 04/23/12-10 SC.13.01* Results of the Election for Senate Executive Committee Chair and Vice Chair and Faculty Members of the Committee on Committees
- 04/23/12-11 SP.13.01* Faculty, Academic Professional, and Student Electorate and Senator Distribution
- 04/23/12-12 SP.13.02* 2012-2013 Urbana-Champaign Senate Membership

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 4:23pm.

Filed with the Senate Clerk and incorporated by reference in these minutes.