Senate of the Urbana-Champaign Campus Organizational Meeting April 20, 2015 Minutes

The organizational meeting of the Senate of the Urbana-Champaign Campus was called to order at 3:15 pm in Illini Room A of the Illini Union with Vice Provost for Faculty & Academic Affairs Abbas Benmamoun presiding and Professor Emeritus H. George Friedman, Jr. as Parliamentarian.

Senate Executive Committee Report

Faculty senator and Chair of the Senate Executive Committee (SEC) Roy Campbell (ENGR) welcomed new and continuing senators.

Tellers for the meeting were faculty senators Harry Hilton (ENGR), Jeremy Tyson (LAS), and Nicholas Burbules (EDUC).

Chair Campbell announced that the i>Clicker 2 distributed to each senator at the door will be used for voting during today's meeting. Campbell proceeded to instruct senators on i>Clicker use in order to vote in each election. A step-by-step instruction sheet on i>Clicker use was also included in each meeting packet.

Chancellor's Remarks

None.

Proposals for Action

04/20/15-03 CC.16.01* Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference (USC)

Senate Committee on Committees chair Prasanta Kalita (ACES) gave a brief explanation of the Committee on Committees charge and how the committee fulfills its responsibilities.

On behalf of Committee on Committees, Chair Kalita (ACES) moved approval of the three nominees on CC.16.01. There were no floor nominations and nominations were declared closed.

- 04/20/15-04 By i>Clicker, the slate of nominees was approved as distributed. Johnson (ENGR), Weech (LISC), and Wheeler (ACES) were declared elected to the USC.
- 04/20/15-05 <u>SC.16.02</u>* Election of One Member of the Urbana Delegation to the USC to Serve on the Senate Executive Committee (SEC)

On behalf of the SEC, Chair Campbell presented SC.15.02. There were no nominations from the floor and nominations were declared closed.

The following i>Clicker vote totals were reported:

Terry Weech	LISC	65
Matthew Wheeler	ACES	77

04/20/15-06 USC member Wheeler was declared elected to the SEC.

Chair of the Senate Committee on Educational Policy (EPC), Gay Miller, explained the role of EPC while votes were tallied.

04/20/15-07 CC.16.02* Nominations for Membership on Standing Committees of the Senate and the Military Education Council

On behalf of the Senate Committee on Committees, Chair Kalita moved approval of the slate of committee nominees on CC.14.02.

Burbules (EDUC) nominated Joyce Tolliver (LAS) from the floor to serve on the Senate Committee on General University Policy (GUP). There were no additional nominations from the floor and nominations were declared closed.

The following i>Clicker vote totals were reported:

Kim Graber	AHS	125
Jay Rosenstein	MDA	107
Steven Seitz	LAS	87
Joyce Tolliver	LAS	108

- 04/20/15-08 Committee members Graber, Rosenstein, and Tolliver were declared elected to serve on GUP.
- 04/20/15-09 By i>Clicker, the amended slate of committee nominees was approved.
- 04/20/15-10 SS.16.01* Election of Committee Chairs to the Senate Executive Committee

Vice Provost Benmamoun presented the ballot of committee chairs willing to serve, and announced the polls were open.

The polls were closed and the votes were tallied. The following i>Clicker vote totals were reported:

David O'Brien	FAA	125
Michael Sandretto	BUS	105
Kathryn Oberdeck	LAS	101
Pat Gill	LAS	88

04/20/15-11 Committee Chairs O'Brien, Sandretto, and Oberdeck were declared elected to serve as members of the SEC. A run-off election was not necessary since there were less than five committee chairs willing to serve.

Professor Emeritus H. George Friedman, Jr. as Parliamentarian reviewed basic parliamentary procedure and directed senators to the parliamentary procedure document distributed with the meeting materials.

Reports for Information

- 04/20/15-12 <u>SC.16.01</u>* Results of the Election for Senate Executive Committee Chair and Vice Chair and Faculty and Student Members of the Committee on Committees
- 04/20/15-13 SP.16.01* Faculty, Academic Professional, and Student Electorate and Senator Distribution
- 04/20/15-14A SP.16.02* 2015-2016 Urbana-Champaign Senate Membership

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 4:14 pm.

Jenny Roether, Senate Clerk *Filed with the Senate Clerk and incorporated by reference in these minutes.