April 29, 2019

CC.20.04

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE Committee on Committees

(Final;Action)

CC.20.04 Election of Members to the University Senates Conference (USC)

BACKGROUND

The University of Illinois Statutes, Article II, Section 2. a. (1) state:

The University Senates Conference shall be made up of twenty members. The basic representation shall be two members from each senate. Additional members shall be apportioned to each senate, at least one from each senate, in numbers proportional to the number of faculty members on each campus. The apportionment shall be recalculated every five years. Each senate shall elect its own representatives from its membership.

The Urbana-Champaign campus has ten (10) representatives to the University Senates Conference. Members of the Urbana delegation to the USC, and the years their terms expire are listed below. Members in *italics* have terms expiring.

James Brennan	LAS	2020	Prasanta Kalita	ACES	2019
Nicholas Burbules	EDUC	2020	William Maher	LIBR	2019
John Dallesasse	ENGR	2021	Gay Miller	VMED	2019
Bettina Francis	LAS	2020	Christopher Span	EDUC	2021
Harley Johnson	ENGR	2021	Joyce Tolliver	LAS	2020

NOMINATIONS

The following faculty members are each nominated for a three-year term on USC, expiring in 2022. Nominees are listed in randomized order and a statement of interest and experience for each nominee is listed below. If no additional nominations are made, these individuals will be declared elected:

Robin Kar	LAW
Jeffrey Eric Jenkins	FAA
Roy Campbell	ENGR

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

Nancy O'Brien, Chair Roy Campbell Audrey Dombro Joseph Edwards Tim Flanagin Lilya Kaganovsky Jennifer Monson Deniz Namik Christopher Span Jenny Roether, *ex officio*

All nominations submitted from the Senate floor must include 1) Nominee's name, 2) Nominee's statement of willingness to serve, and 3) A 150 words or less statement of interest and experience. Nominees must be a senator at the time their term begins. Nominations from the floor can be presented solely in printed form, in the same manner as the slate brought forward by Committee on Committees.

FACULTY STATEMENTS OF INTEREST AND EXPERIENCE

Robin Kar (LAW)

Professor Kar is a Professor of Law, with a joint appointment in Philosophy. He has a BA, in philosophy (with a minor in physics) magna cum laude (Harvard); a JD from Yale Law School; and PhD in Philosophy (University of Michigan). As 2018-2019 Vice-Chair, Professor Kar worked closely with members of the Senate, Senate Executive Committee, Senate Committee Chairs, and the Offices of the Provost, Chancellor, and President. Those experiences gave him insights into how shared governance works between these institutions. He has been active in several other recent campus and system-wide initiatives. He currently chairs the task force to reevaluate methods of handling sexual harassment by faculty. He was an integral part of the campus and system-wide task forces that developed official comments to the Department of Education's proposed Title IX regulations. He has participated in the naming rights working group, among many other campus initiatives.

Jeffrey Eric Jenkins (FAA)

Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, former Head of the Department of Theatre at Illinois and former Director of Theatre Studies at New York University, is a Professor of Theatre who teaches dramatic literature, theatre historiography, and criticism. Author and editor of nine books and many articles, he is a faculty senator, member of the Elections and Credentials Committee, and served as a facilitator for the Office of the Provost in the General Assembly on Student Learning Outcomes for General Education. During the current academic year, Dr. Jenkins was a featured speaker in St. Petersburg, Russia, at the 29th World Congress of the International Association of Theatre Critics. He also consulted in the past year on separate history projects for NPR, PBS, and with filmmaker Rebecca Miller. Dr. Jenkins writes theatre criticism for The News-Gazette and serves as executive editor of Critical Stages/Scènes critiques, a bilingual journal on international performance. He is a member or chair of various boards and committees for the American Theatre Wing, the Tony Awards, the Henry Hewes Design Awards, and the International Association of Theatre Critics. Dr. Jenkins is committed to the principles of shared governance and to growing diversity, equity, and inclusion throughout the university. He hopes to bring these values to service with the University Senates Conference.

Roy Campbell (ENGR)

Professor Campbell served on the University Senates Conference five years ago, and he is interested in how the campus interacts with the system and possible interactions.

All nominations submitted from the Senate floor must include 1) Nominee's name, 2) Nominee's statement of willingness to serve, and 3) A 150 words or less statement of interest and experience. Nominees must be a senator at the time their term begins. Nominations from the floor can be presented solely in printed form, in the same manner as the slate brought forward by Committee on Committees.