UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Senate Executive Committee (Final; Action)

SC.20.03 Election of Student Members to the Committee on Committees

BACKGROUND

The Committee shall consist of three senators who are members of the student electorate, with no two from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit, and at least one of whom shall be an undergraduate and at least one of whom shall be a graduate or professional student.

There are no continuing student members of the Committee on Committees.

Nominations for the Committee on Committees shall be made by the incumbent Senate Executive Committee. Nominations may also be made for student committee positions by student senators. Each nomination shall be accompanied by the consent of the nominee and a short statement of interest and experience. Nominees must be senators at the time the committee term begins.

NOMINATIONS

The following students are nominated for a one-year term ending in 2020. Nominees are listed in randomized order and a statement of interest and experience for each nominee is listed below. If no nominations are made from the floor, the following individuals will be declared elected.

Ane Icardo Isasa GRAD Jared Bastian ENGR Nathan Poulosky LAS

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Bettina Francis, Chair
Rob Kar, Vice-Chair
Sara Benson
Nicholas Burbules
John Dallesasse
Joseph Edwards
Shawn Gilmore
Richard Gonigam
Amy Hovious
Gay Miller
Scott Morris
Nancy O'Brien
Vikram Sardana
Mark Steinberg
Joyce Tolliver

All nominations submitted from the Senate floor must include 1) Nominee's name, 2) Nominee's statement of willingness to serve, and 3) a 150 words or less statement of interest and experience. Nominees must be senators at the time the term begins. Nominations from the floor can be presented solely in printed form, in the same manner as the slate brought forward by SEC.

STUDENT STATEMENTS OF INTEREST AND EXPERIENCE

Ane Icardo Isasa (GRAD)

Ane would like to join the Committee on Committees of the Urbana-Champaign Senate due to its role as overseer of all the committees under the Senate. The graduate student experience is often a unique mixture of learning and labor, and Ane considers that representing this in this committee is paramount. Ane plans to advocate for students in graduate school, women, and international students. In regard to her experience, Ane has extensive experience as a senator both in the Urbana-Champaign Senate and the Illinois Student Government, is a highly evaluated teacher assistant in the Spanish and Portuguese department, a proactive PhD student focused on research, and has aided countless undergraduate students and the Delta Beta chapter of the Phi Mu Fraternity as the Academic Excellence Adviser.

Jared Bastian (ENGR)

While not currently a senator, I have won a Senate seat for the next Assembly and academic year. I have had the opportunity to work with Senator Joseph Edwards in the Committee on Internal Affairs in ISG and have heard him speak highly of the work done within this committee. While I have no pertinent experience, I have been involved in the Committee on Internal Affairs in ISG and have worked on appointing numerous Senators within ISG to fill vacancies. Furthermore, I understand the important nature of appointing good people to fill important positions within our campus government.

Nathan Poulosky (LAS)

Nathan Poulosky had the honor of serving as a senator during the first semester of last year. While spending the semester in Washington DC, he was elected by his LAS constituents as a senator for the 2019-2020 term. He has previously chaired the Ad-hoc Committee on municipal advisement, where he listened to liaisons' concerns about what was going on in local government and discussed how we could take action. He also took a leadership role on a recent campaign where he reviewed and interviewed intern applications. On Committee on Committees, he will use those skills to select the most qualified people to fill vacancies.

All nominations submitted from the Senate floor must include 1) Nominee's name, 2) Nominee's statement of willingness to serve, and 3) a 150 words or less statement of interest and experience. Nominees must be senators at the time the term begins. Nominations from the floor can be presented solely in printed form, in the same manner as the slate brought forward by SEC.