UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY STATUTES AND SENATE PROCEDURES (Final; Action)

SP.20.21 Revision to the *Bylaws*, Part D.13 – Committee on Honorary Degrees

BACKGROUND

Responding to the Report of the Eighth Senate Review Commission (XSR.19.01), the Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees examined its charge and composition as provided by the *Bylaws*, Part D.13.

The proposed revision would add a designee of the Chancellor to be present at committee meetings to answer commencement-related questions.

RECOMMENDATION

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends the approval of the following revisions to the *Bylaws*. Text to be deleted is struck through and text to be added is underlined. Adoption of amendments to the *Bylaws* requires a two-thirds vote of the Senate.

REVISION TO THE BYLAWS, PART D.13 - Committee on Honorary Degrees

1 a. Duties

9

10

11

12

- The Committee shall initiate and review nominations for honorary degrees and make recommendations to the Senate.
- 4 b. Candidate selection criteria
- The prime, controlling consideration for an honorary degree should be distinction. The nominee should have made a distinguished contribution in the relevant field of endeavor, and should have shown sustained activity of uncommon merit. The contributions may be made in a wide range of activities, including, but not limited to:
 - Scholarship, in any discipline: major breakthroughs in knowledge in fields of scholarly work.
 - Creative Arts, in the broad sense of the term: literature, music, architecture,
 engineering, science, etc.; the development of new frontiers of creativity.

13	 Professions: distinguished contributions, innovative work of distinction.
14	Public Service: outstanding achievement in statesmanship, administration
15	legislative activity, the judiciary, non-governmental civic activity.
16	 Business, Industry, Labor: outstanding, innovative activity.
17	c. Membership
18	The committee shall consist of:
19	1. Five faculty members, and
20	2. Two students members, and
21	3. One designee of the Chancellor (ex officio).
22	

University Statutes and Senate Procedures
Shawn Gilmore, Chair
H. George Friedman
Matthew Goodman
Michael Grossman
Samantha Lenoch
William Maher
Jeffrey Stein
Kelli Trei
Brent West
Jessica Mette, ex officio
Sharon Reynolds, ex officio
Jenny Roether, ex officio