CC.21.04 May 4, 2020

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Committee on Committees (Final; Action)

CC.21.04 Election of Members to the University Senates Conference (USC)

BACKGROUND

The University of Illinois Statutes, Article II, Section 2. a. (1) state:

The University Senates Conference shall be made up of twenty members. The basic representation shall be two members from each senate. Additional members shall be apportioned to each senate, at least one from each senate, in numbers proportional to the number of faculty members on each campus. The apportionment shall be recalculated every five years. Each senate shall elect its own representatives from its membership.

The Urbana-Champaign campus has ten (10) representatives to the University Senates Conference. Members of the Urbana delegation to the USC, and the years their terms expire are listed below. Members in *italics* have terms expiring.

James Brennan	2020	John Dallesasse	2021	Roy Campbell	2022
Nicholas Burbules	2020	Min Zhan	2021	Jeffrey Eric Jenkins	2022
Joyce Tolliver	2020	Christopher Span	2021	Robin Kar	2022
Vacancy	2020				

NOMINATIONS

The Committee on Committees nominates the following faculty senators for a three-year term on USC, expiring in 2023. Nominees and their statement of interest and experience is listed below. If no additional nominations are made, these individuals will be declared elected:

James Brennan	LAS
William Maher	LIBR
Mark Steinberg	LAS
Helga Varden	LAS

All nominations submitted from the Senate floor must include 1) Nominee's name, 2) Nominee's statement of willingness to serve, and 3) A 200 words or less statement of interest and experience. Nominees must be a senator at the time their term begins. Nominations from the floor can be presented solely in written form, in the same manner as the slate brought forward by Committee on Committees.

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES Christopher Span, Chair Rummana Alam Jared Bastian Laura Christianson Tim Flanagin Laura Garrett Ane Icardo Isasa Jennifer Monson Deniz Namik Jenny Roether, *ex officio*

STATEMENTS OF INTEREST AND EXPERIENCE

James Brennan (LAS)

James R. Brennan is Associate Professor in the Department of History, with a research focus on twentieth-century Africa. He is author of the book Taifa: Making Nation and Race in Urban Tanzania (Ohio University Press, 2012), which won the 2013 Bethwel Ogot Prize for best book in Eastern African Studies. He currently teaches courses on African History, Global History, and the History of Intelligence. He is a graduate of the University of Illinois (1991), and earned his Ph.D. at Northwestern University (2002). He has served on a number of UIUC senate committees, including Campus Operations, Military Education Council, and Admissions; he also currently serves as Chair of the UIUC Parking Advisory Committee. He has been a UIUC Senate representative member to the University Senates Conference (USC) since 2017, where his participation has largely focused on the USC's Statutes and Governance Committee.

William Maher (LIBR)

William Maher has previously served on the University Senates Conference 2013-19 and its Executive Committee (2018-19). His deep commitment to shared governance is evidenced by 18 years in the Senate and by the 2017 Campus Outstanding Faculty Leadership Award. He was member (2005-20) and chair (2006-17) of the University Statutes and Senate Procedures Committee and member of the Senate Executive Committee (2006-17). He has served on Chancellor search committees in 2011 and 2016. Throughout, Maher has provided an independent voice, critically assessing all calls, whether from administration or senators and evaluating initiatives and resolutions constructively without partisanship or preconceptions.

Maher has been Professor of Library Administration since 1977 and Director of University Archives since 1995. In 2017, Maher received the Chancellor's Medallion which the University has awarded on only six occasions. Beyond the University, he has held leadership positions in regional, national, and international organizations. His research focuses on archival management and intellectual property. He has served (2011-20) as an NGO head of delegation to the World Intellectual Property Organization to advocate for copyright reform.

Mark Steinberg (LAS)

I have been a faculty member at UIUC since 1996 and active in the Senate for many of these years. I am currently a professor in the History Department and hold a zero-percent positions in the Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures and in the Unit for Criticism and Interpretive Theory. On the Urbana campus, I have been a member of the Senate Executive Committee; the Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Tenure (I also served as chair); the Graduate College Executive Committee; the Executive Committee of the Russian, East European, and Eurasian Center; and the Executive Committee of the Department of History. I have been Associate Chair and Director of Graduate Studies in History. I have also participated in many policy drafting committees at the college (LAS) and at the University level, most recently committees on sexual misconduct and on controversial speech. For my research on Russian/Soviet history and comparative urban history, I received fellowships and grants from SSRC, NEH, Carnegie, Guggenheim, the American Institute for Indian Studies, and others. I have also served on the Executive Committee and as President of the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies and been editor of the association's professional journal, *Slavic Review*.

Helga Varden (LAS)

Helga Varden is an Associate Professor in Philosophy (Ph.D. philosophy, University of Toronto, 2006) and in Women and Gender Studies. Though permanently at UIUC since 2006, she has held visiting positions at the University of Chicago, Northwestern University, and the University of St. Andrews. In addition to her book *Sex, Love, and Gender—A Kantian Theory* (OUP, 2020), Varden has roughly 50 publications in the areas of legal-political philosophy and its history, feminist philosophy, and the philosophy of sex and love. Along with these research activities, Varden has held leadership positions in general philosophical associations including the American Philosophical Association and the International Society for Law and Philosophy as well as in more specialized ones such as the North American Kant Society and The Society for the Philosophy of Sex and Love. Varden is also an Executive Officer on the Editorial Board of *Canadian Journal of Philosophy*—a top-ranked philosophy journal. In her research, teaching, and service, Varden is committed to fostering scholarly excellence as well as improving diversity, equity, and inclusion throughout the academy.