UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES (Final; Action)

CC.21.08 Faculty Nominations to the Joint Committee on Investment, Licensing, and Naming Rights

BACKGROUND

The Joint Committee on Investment, Licensing, and Naming Rights shall provide advice to the Chancellor's Office on issues of social responsibility related to campus investment, licensing, and naming rights consistent with the values of the university. Issues within its responsibility include, but are not limited to, licensing of the campus's names, symbols, and insignia; supporting workers' rights and fair labor practices; sponsorship of products; and corporate social responsibility more generally. The Committee will also review proposals to name campus buildings, classrooms, or other physical facilities for donors or other honorees.

Three of the faculty positions and the student positions shall be filled as follows. The Committee on Committees shall prepare, and the Senate shall approve, a list of candidates, with at least two nominees for each position to be filled. The faculty members shall serve staggered, renewable terms of three years.

Continuing faculty members of the Committee and the expiration of their terms are as follows:

David Dubin	SIS	2020	selected from Senate nominations
Marc Doussard	FAA	2021	selected from Senate nominations
Margaret Wright	BUS	2021	Chancellor's appointment
Sheldon Katz	LAS	2022	selected from Senate nominations
Lesley Wexler	LAW	2022	Chancellor's appointment

NOMINATIONS

Committee on Committees recommends approval of the following slate of nominees to fill one faculty vacancy for a term expiring in 2023. If no additional nominations are made, the two nominees below will be forwarded to the Chancellor and the Chair of the Senate Executive Committee for selection of one faculty member to serve.

John Caughlin	LAS
William Maher	LIBR

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.

Rummana Alam
Jared Bastian
Laura Christianson
Tim Flanagin
Laura Garrett
Ane Icardo Isasa
Jennifer Monson
Deniz Namik
Jenny Roether, ex officio

STATEMENTS OF INTEREST

John P. Caughlin (LAS, Communication) (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, 1997) is Professor and Head in the Department of Communication at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His research focuses on effective face-to-face and mediated communication in relationship, family, and health contexts. He has co-authored or co-edited two books and more than 75 journal articles and book chapters. At Illinois, he has served as the Executive Officer of the Campus Research Board and Chair of the Institutional Review Board. He is a past Associate Editor for the Journal of Social and Personal Relationships, has been a member of 14 editorial boards, and is currently one of the General Editors for a book series at Cambridge University Press. He is a Fellow of the International Association for Relationship Research, a Fellow of the International Communication Association, and he has received the Bernard Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship or Distinguished Service in Family Communication from the National Communication Association.

William J. Maher (LIBR, University Archives)

As a long-time senator and a member of the Senate Committee on Unviersity Statutes and Senate Procedures, I have a great interest in, and have followed the discussions and proposals relating to, policy issues in sponsorships, naming rights, donations, and investments. To my shared governance experience, I would bring to the Joint Committee a historical perspective from 42 years in the University Archives. Specifics of relevant service include: elected membership in the Senate for 18 years starting in 1990; University Statutes and Senate Procedures Committee member (2005-20) and chair (2006-17); Senate Executive Committee member (2006-17); University Senates Conference member (2013-19); member of the 2011 and 2016 search committees for Chancellor; and elected member of the University Library Executive Committee (multiple terms beginning in 1989).