UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (Final; Action)

SC.21.02 Election of Faculty Members to the Committee on Committees

BACKGROUND

The Committee shall consist of five senators who are members of the faculty electorate at the time of election, with no two from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit.

Continuing faculty members with terms expiring 2021 are as follows:

Rummana Alam	LAW
Laura Christiansen	ACES
Laura Garrett	VMED

Nominations for the Committee on Committees shall be made by the incumbent Senate Executive Committee. Nominations may also be made for faculty committee positions by faculty senators. Each nomination shall be accompanied by the consent of the nominee and a 150 words or less statement of interest. Nominees must be faculty senators at the time the committee term begins.

NOMINATIONS

The Senate Executive Committee nominates the following faculty senators to serve a two-year term ending 2022. Statements of interest are included. Each voter may cast up to two votes. The two nominees with the highest number of votes will be declared elected, with no two from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit.

Jeffrey Eric Jenkins	FAA
John Dallesasse	ENGR
George Francis	LAS

All nominations submitted from the Senate floor must include 1) Nominee's name, 2) Nominee's statement of willingness to serve, and 3) a 150 words or less statement of interest and experience. Nominees must be senators at the time the term begins. Nominations from the floor can be presented solely in written form, in the same manner as the slate brought forward by SEC.

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Robin Kar, Chair John Dallesasse, Vice-Chair Mike Bohlmann Brian Brauer Nicholas Burbules Shawn Gilmore Kim Graber Casev Griffin Ane Icardo Isasa Eric Meyer Gay Miller Christopher Span Joyce Tolliver Matthew Wheeler Susan Zhou

STATEMENTS OF INTEREST AND EXPERIENCE

Jeffrey Eric Jenkins (FAA)

Jeffrey Eric Jenkins is a Professor of Theatre who teaches dramatic literature, theatre historiography, and criticism. Prior to his current appointment, he served as Head of the Department of Theatre at Illinois. Dr. Jenkins is also a former Director of Theatre Studies at New York University, where he taught for fourteen years. Author and editor of nine books and dozens of articles, he serves on the Faculty Advisory Committee, the University Senates Conference, the Elections and Credentials Committee, the Military Education Council, and is a Faculty Senator. Dr. Jenkins writes theatre criticism for *The News-Gazette*, serves as executive editor of *Critical Stages/Scènes critiques*, a bilingual journal on international performance, and is vice president of the International Association of Theatre Wing, the Tony Awards, and the Henry Hewes Design Awards. Dr. Jenkins is committed to the principles of shared governance and to growing diversity, equity, and inclusion throughout the university. He hopes to bring these values to service with the Committee on Committees.

John Dallesasse (ENGR)

Prior to coming to Illinois, I spent over 20 years in technical and management positions in industry with responsibilities that included guiding the strategic direction of organizations. In my 8+ years at Illinois I've been actively involved in shared governance. I've served on the ECE Department's Advisory Committee, the College of Engineering's Executive Committee, and represent the ECE faculty on the ECE Alumni Board. At the campus level I chair the Campus Operations Committee and serve on both the Senate Executive Committee and University Senates Conference. I am also currently a President's Executive Leadership Program (PELP) Fellow. Outside the University I've served as an Associate Editor for the IEEE Journal of Quantum Electronics, serve as the Vice President of Technical Committees for the IEEE Electron Devices Society, chair the Steering Committee for the IEEE Transactions on Semiconductor Manufacturing, and am the secretary of the Steering Committee for the IEEE Journal of Lightwave Technology. My technical contributions include, with Nick Holonyak, Jr., the discovery of III-V Oxidation – an enabling technology for the fabrication of high-speed verticalcavity surface-emitting lasers. I am a member of the American Physical Society and am a Fellow of both the OSA and the IEEE.

George Francis (LAS)

In my half century on the University of Illinois faculty I have been involved in very many changes, innovations, liquidation, and preservations of university institutions, customs, and shared governance. I will bring some institutional memory, when it is needed and welcome, to this key committee of our Senate. I have served as chair of the Committee of Information Technology on two different occasions, six years on the University Senates Conference, as well as on departmental and college committees. I was elected to the Senate in the first semester assistant professors were welcomes.

I have collaborated with colleagues in many cognate departments, from the north (NCSA, Beckman), the center (Carl Woese's seminars during the Kent State unrests), to the south (Second Discipline in Art and Design). I believe I can add some gravitas to this indispensable committee. On matters unfamiliar to me, I shall (mostly) keep a respectful silence.