## University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate

COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY STATUTES AND SENATE PROCEDURES (Final; Action)

SP.21.08 Revision to the *Bylaws*, Part F.3 – Military Education Council

## **BACKGROUND**

This amendment would allow greater flexibility to fill the membership of the Military Education Council (MEC), because it has been difficult in recent years to fill vacancies in a timely manner. The members of the MEC believe that while it is important to maintain a connection to the Senate with a minimum of one Senate member, the work performed by the MEC does not require Senate membership in order to be completed effectively.

## RECOMMENDATION

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends the approval of the following revisions to the *Bylaws*. Text to be deleted is struck through and text to be added is underlined. Adoption of amendments to the *Bylaws* requires a two-thirds vote of the Senate.

## REVISION TO THE BYLAWS, PART F.3 – Military Education Council

- **3. Military Education Council**. The Military Education Council is a campus body charged with
- 2 reviewing staff appointments in military departments; reviewing and supervising the military
- 3 education curricula; administering related budget, space, interdepartmental liaison and
- 4 contract negotiations; and ensuring academic freedom within military departments. The
- 5 Council is composed of a chair and one non-voting member appointed by the Chancellor; six
- 6 civilian faculty members elected by the Senate; one undergraduate and one graduate or
- 7 professional student, both elected by the Senate; the three military department heads ex officio
- 8 with vote; and one student appointed by the Armed Forces Council. Terms of elected faculty
- 9 and student members start August 16. The six civilian faculty members are elected for two-year
- terms, three of them being elected each year. Three At least one of them must be a senators,
- 11 and three need not be. The student members chosen by the Senate are elected for one-year
- terms and need not be senators.

University Statutes and Senate Procedures
Shawn Gilmore, Chair
Terri Ciofalo
H. George Friedman
Michael Grossman
William Maher
Owen Skelding
Joyce Tolliver
Kelli Trei
Brent West
Jessica Mette, ex officio
Sharon Reynolds, ex officio
Jenny Roether, ex officio