UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY STATUTES AND SENATE PROCEDURES (Committee of the Whole Discussion)

SP.21.10 Committee of the Whole Discussion Regarding a Potential Revision to the *Bylaws*, Part D.1.c – Senate Executive Committee, Membership

BACKGROUND

Responding to the Report of the Eighth Senate Review Commission (XSR.19.01), the Senate Executive Committee (SEC) examined its charge and composition as provided in the *Bylaws*, Part D.1. During its deliberations, the SEC considered its membership, duties, eligibility restrictions on the SEC Chair and Vice-Chair positions, and language regarding *ex officio* representatives. SEC did not ultimately propose any changes to its membership, but did recommend to the Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures (SP) proposed language about the SEC Chair and Vice-Chair and the *ex officio* representatives.

SP presented a version of these changes as SP.20.06 at the July 13, 2020 Senate meeting. SP.20.06 was returned to committee, modified, and passed by the Senate on September 21, 2020. SP also presented SP.21.01 to reinstate some text that had been inadvertently struck by a floor amendment to SP.20.06; SP.21.01 was passed by the Senate on November 16, 2020.

During the Senate's deliberations on SP.20.06, it was noted that the Senate would benefit from a Committee of the Whole discussion on the membership of the SEC to gather Senate input about whether SP should pursue any changes to the membership of the SEC, as provided in the *Bylaws*, Part D.1.c.1:

- a. a Chair and a Vice-Chair, elected by and from the membership of the Senate, and who shall be the presiding officers of the Senate Executive Committee,
- b. the Chair of the Committee on Committees,
- c. the Chair of the Committee on Educational Policy,
- d. the Chair of the Committee on General University Policy,
- e. the Chair of the Committee on Information Technology,
- f. the Chair of the Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures,
- g. three members elected by the Senate from a slate consisting of all remaining committee chairs willing to serve, with a runoff among the five candidates receiving the most votes (if there are more than five candidates), and additional candidates if tied for fifth place,
- h. three student members, including at least one undergraduate and at least one graduate or professional student, all of whom shall be elected by and from the student senators,

- i. one of the Senate's representatives to the University Senates Conference, elected by the Senate at its organizational meeting; nominees shall be those members of the Committee on University Senates Conference who consent to serve if elected; a majority of votes shall be required to elect on the first ballot; if a majority vote is not reached on the first ballot, a runoff election shall be held between the two nominees who received the highest number of votes, and including all of those tied with the highest or second highest number of votes; a plurality of the votes cast shall be required to elect on the second ballot,
- j. the campus faculty member of the Faculty Advisory Council to the Board of Higher Education *ex officio* with vote,
- k. the Chair of the committee which performs the statutory function of the Professional Advisory Committee or the Chair's designee *ex officio* with vote, and
- I. the Chancellor or the Chancellor's designee (ex officio).

Note that the current *Bylaws* specify that 6 committee chairs have designated seats on the SEC, with 3 more elected from a pool composed of the chairs of the 13 remaining committees:

- Academic Freedom and Tenure
- Admissions
- Budget
- Campus Operations
- Conference on Conduct Governance
- Elections and Credentials
- Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

- Faculty and Academic Staff Benefits
- Honorary Degrees
- Library
- Public Engagement and Outreach
- Student Discipline
- University Student Life

This arrangement means that 10 committees are not represented on SEC.

RECOMMENDATION

- 1 SP welcomes input on options A-C below, as well as input on the following questions:
- Is the overall size and range of voting members on the SEC satisfying? Should it be
 composed in some other way?
- Are the committee chairs that currently have designated seats on the SEC (listed in
 D.1.c.1.b-f) those that the Senate would like to see maintained?
- Currently, the Senate elects three committee chairs (D.1.c.1.g) from those whose chairs
 do not automatically have designated seats. Is this number sufficient? Could it be
 lessened to include more designated seats for chairs?
 - Are there other concerns about the composition of the SEC or suggestions for revisions to Part D.1.c.1?

9

10

1	П	•	1
-			ı

- 12 SP could pursue one of the following options:
- 13 A. Propose no additional changes to the Bylaws, Part D.1.c.1
- B. Propose modifications to the list of seats allotted to specific committee chairs (D.1.c.1.b-
- 15 f) and/or modify the pool of the remaining chairs (D.1.c.1.g)
- 16 C. Explore a restructuring of the SEC's membership, including removing the emphasis on
- 17 specific committee chairs.

Shawn Gilmore, Chair
Terri Ciofalo
H. George Friedman
Michael Grossman
William Maher
Owen Skelding
Joyce Tolliver
Kelli Trei
Brent West
Jessica Mette, ex officio
Sharon Reynolds, ex officio
Jenny Roether, ex officio