UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES (Final; Action)

CC.22.03 Election of Members to the 2021-2022 University Senates Conference (USC)

BACKGROUND

The University of Illinois Statutes, Article II, Section 2. a. (1) states:

The University Senates Conference shall be made up of twenty members. The basic representation shall be two members from each senate. Additional members shall be apportioned to each senate, at least one from each senate, in numbers proportional to the number of faculty members at each university. The apportionment shall be recalculated every five years. Each senate shall elect its own representatives from its membership.

The University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign has ten (10) representatives to the University Senates Conference. Members of the Urbana delegation to the USC, and the years their terms expire are listed below. Members in *italics* have terms expiring or are resigning.

2021		2022		2023	
John Dallesasse	ENGR	Roy Campbell	ENGR	James Brennan	LAS
Min Zhan	i-School	Jeffrey Eric Jenkins	FAA	William Maher	LIBR
Christopher Span	EDUC	Rob Kar	LAW	Mark Steinberg	LAS
				Helga Varden	LAS

NOMINATIONS

The Committee on Committees nominates the following faculty senators for a three-year term on USC, expiring in **2024**. Nominees and their statement of interest and experience is listed below. If no additional nominations are made, these individuals will be declared elected:

Sara R. Benson	LIBR
Nicholas Burbules	EDUC
John Dallesasse	ENGR

The Committee on Committees nominates the following faculty senators for a partial, two-year term on USC, expiring in **2023** due to resignations. Nominees and their statement of interest and experience is listed below. If no additional nominations are made, these individuals will be declared elected:

Joyce Tolliver LAS Faculty senator vacancy XXX

All nominations submitted from the Senate floor must include 1) Nominee's name, 2) Nominee's statement of willingness to serve, and 3) A 200 words or less statement of interest and experience. Nominees must be a senator at the time their term begins. Nominations from the floor can be presented solely in written form, in the same manner as the slate brought forward by Committee on Committees.

Committee on Committees
Chaya Sandler, Chair
Creen Ahmad
Rummana Alam
Laura Christianson
John Dallesasse
Abby Fogarty
Laura Garrett
Jeffrey Eric Jenkins
Sudarshana Rao
Jenny Roether, ex officio

STATEMENTS OF INTEREST AND EXPERIENCE

Sara R. Benson (LIBR)

Sara R. Benson is an Assistant Professor and Copyright Librarian in the University Library. Prior to that, she was a Lecturer at the College of Law for ten years. Sara has served in a variety of roles with the Senate in her many years at the University of Illinois including, as an elected member of the Chancellor Search Committee, as an elected member on the Senate Executive Committee, as an elected member of the Committee on Committees, as a co-Parliamentarian, as Chair of the Conference on Student Conduct, as Co-Chair of the Taskforce for Classroom Material Costs and more. Sara takes her service obligations seriously and is an active member of the Senate. Sara is going up for tenure this coming academic year as a member of the University Library faculty.

Nicholas Burbules (EDUC)

Nicholas Burbules has served on the Senates Conference (USC) several times and has chaired it twice. He is very familiar with the system-wide issues that USC deals with. Currently he is helping to lead a multiyear process of revising the Statutes and General Rules. The first round of those major changes went through last year. Next year the second round of changes will be moving through the USC and the Senates for review. Serving on the USC would enable him to help coordinate the movement of those changes through the Urbana Senate in order that they receive close and thorough attention.

John Dallesasse (ENGR)

I am pleased to be nominated to serve a second term on the University Senates Conference. I came back to the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering as a faculty member after a 20-year career in industry because I wanted to do my part in helping to sustain the academic excellence of our institution. If elected, I will continue to be dedicated to that mission. My background prior to joining the University includes positions in technology and executive management, with responsibilities that included guiding the strategic direction of organizations. I currently serve on a variety of committees both inside and outside the University, including leadership roles in the IEEE Electron Devices Society, the Steering Committee for the IEEE Journal of Lightwave Technology, and the Steering Committee for the IEEE Transactions on Semiconductor Manufacturing. At UIUC, I serve on the Grainger College of Engineering Executive Committee, represent the faculty on the ECE Alumni Board, chair the Campus Operations Committee, and have served as Vice Chair of the Senate Executive Committee. My technical contributions include, with Nick Holonyak, Jr., the discovery of III-V Oxidation – an enabling technology for the fabrication of high-speed vertical-cavity surfaceemitting lasers. I am a member of the American Physical Society and am a Fellow of both the OSA and the IEEE.

Joyce Tolliver (LAS)

Joyce Tolliver is Director of the Program in Translation and Interpreting Studies and Associate Professor of Spanish & Portuguese. Her research and teaching deal with translation, gender, race, and sexuality in post-Empire Spain and the Philippines. She is a founding member of the MLA Global Hispanophones Forum and has chaired its executive committee, as well as serving as elected member of the MLA Delegate Assembly and division executive committees. She has chaired University Senates Conference (2018-2019) and the Senate Executive Committee (2009-2011), as well as the Committee on General University Policy and the Committee on Committees. Since 2013, Tolliver has participated in an ongoing System-wide task force to propose revisions to the University Statutes and General Rules. In 2014-2015, she participated in forming the governance structure of the Carle-Illinois College of Medicine. In the Department of Spanish and Portuguese, she has served as Associate Head and Director of Graduate Studies; and chaired the Policy and Development, Curriculum, Study Abroad, and Graduate Admissions and Recruitment committees. She has been elected to the Spanish and Portuguese Advisory Committee multiple times. In 2019, she was awarded the Campus Outstanding Faculty Leadership Award.