UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES (Final; Action)

CC.23.01 Election of the 2022-2023 Senate Executive Committee (SEC) Chair

BACKGROUND

The Senate Executive Committee Chair shall: 1) Establish and maintain liaison with the Chancellor, the Provost, relevant administrative offices, and, where appropriate, the President of the University and the Board of Trustees on matters of concern to the Senate; 2) Establish and maintain liaison with the Office of Public Affairs and, where appropriate, with the press and the public; 3) Establish and maintain relationships with the chair of each Senate committee, and regularly advise and support Senate committee chairs; 4) Initiate reviews of standing Senate committees on a five-year rotation; and 5) Perform other duties as the Senate or Senate Executive Committee shall specify. (*Bylaws* Part D.1.b)

The Senate Executive Committee Chair and Vice-Chair shall be elected by and from the membership of the Senate, and who shall be the presiding officers of the Senate Executive Committee. The officers of the Senate Executive Committee shall be elected for terms of one year. The Chair shall be released from other academic duties for one-half time, with this appointment funded from campus resources. (*Bylaws* Part D.1.c)

NOMINATIONS

Nominations for Executive Committee officers shall be made by the incumbent Committee on Committees. Nominations may also be made by others and must be accompanied by consent to serve from the person nominated. Nominations must be received in the Senate Office prior to the date set by the Senate Executive Committee. The nominations will clearly distinguish between Chair and Vice-Chair. The nominator shall provide a brief biographical sketch of each nominee. (*Bylaws* Part A.6.d)

The Committee on Committees nominates the following senator for a one-year term as Chair of the Senate Executive Committee (SEC) ending in 2023. A statement of interest is included.

Jeffery Eric Jenkins (Professor, FAA)

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES Chaya Sandler, Chair

John Dallesasse Virginia Dominguez Cindy Ingold Hadiya Jagroop Jeffrey Eric Jenkins Prasanta Kalita Ari Kelo Jenny Roether, *ex officio*

STATEMENT OF INTEREST AND EXPERIENCE

Jeffery Eric Jenkins (Professor, Theatre Studies, FAA)

Jeffrey Eric Jenkins is a Professor of Theatre Studies who teaches dramatic literature, theatre historiography, theory, and criticism. He is a faculty affiliate of Discovery Partners Institute (DPI) and a member of DPI's Executive Committee. A former Head of the Department of Theatre at Illinois and former Director of Theatre Studies at New York University, Dr. Jenkins is the author and editor of nine books and scores of articles. He is a faculty senator and has served on such committees as Elections and Credentials, the Committee on Committees, the University Senates Conference, and the university's Faculty Advisory Committee.

Dr. Jenkins is a frequent keynote speaker at international conferences on free expression, populism, and the performing arts. He writes theatre criticism for The News-Gazette and serves as executive editor of Critical Stages/Scènes critiques, a bilingual journal on international performance. Dr. Jenkins was elected President in 2021 of the nearly 3,000-member International Association of Theatre Critics, which advocates for free expression and the expansion of global discourse on issues that engage with politics, society, and the arts. He is also a member or chair of various boards and committees for such entities as the American Theatre Wing, the Tony Awards, and the Henry Hewes Design Awards.

Dr. Jenkins is committed to the principles of shared governance and to growing diversity, equity, and inclusion throughout the university and the system. If elected chair of the Senate Executive Committee, Dr. Jenkins is committed to making sure that all voices in the Senate, its various committees, and in our community at large are given ample opportunity to be heard. He pledges to work closely with the committee chairs, and the Offices of the Provost and the Chancellor to uphold the best practices of shared governance.