### UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (Final; Action)

SC.23.04 Election of a Faculty Member to Fill a Vacancy on the 2022-2023 Committee on Committees

#### **BACKGROUND**

The Committee shall consist of five senators who are members of the faculty electorate at the time of election, with no two from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit.

Continuing faculty members and their terms are as follows:

John DallesasseENGR2024Virginia DominguezLAS2023Prasanta KalitaACES2023Hayden NoelBUS2024

Nominations for the Committee on Committees shall be made by the incumbent Senate Executive Committee. Nominations may also be made for faculty committee positions by faculty senators. Nominees must be faculty senators at the time the committee term begins.

### **NOMINATIONS**

The Senate Executive Committee (SEC) nominates the following faculty senators to fill one faculty vacancy created by the resignation of Cindy Ingold (LIBR) with a term ending 2023.

Joanne Kaczmarek LIBR Doug Smith SSW

Each voter may vote for up to one nominee. The nominee with the highest number of votes will be declared elected, with no two from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit. Cumulative voting shall not be allowed. Statements of interest are included.

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice. Nominees must be senators at the time the term begins. A statement of interest of no more than 150 words is also requested.

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, Chair
Charles Roseman, Vice-Chair

Mike Bohlmann James Brennan Nicholas Burbules Roy Campbell David Forsyth

Shawn Gilmore

Richard Gegg

Hadiya Jagroop

Vindhya Kalipi Angela Lyons Gay Miller

Linda Moorhouse

JJ Pionke

Chaya Sandler Josh Small Steve Witt

Robert Jones, ex officio

## **STATEMENTS OF INTEREST**

# Joanne Kaczmarek (LIBR)

Joanne Kaczmarek has been with the University since 2002 and is Associate Professor and Archivist for Electronic Records with the University Archives. Kaczmarek also serves as Director for Records and Information Management Services which provides support to all three universities and System offices regarding compliance requirements for records retention with an eye toward business process improvement. She has been involved in research initiatives focusing on federated access to digital content using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH) and on applying archival concepts to digital preservation through work that has included the National Archives, the Library of Congress, and the Illinois State Archives. Kaczmarek continues to serve on the Senate Campus Operations Committee, the Senate's Committee on General University Policies, and the Provost's Data Management Committee.

# **Doug Smith (SSW)**

Doug Smith (Ph.D, LCSW, Professor, Social Work) has lived in Champaign-Urbana for most of his adult life. He is a two-time alum of UIUC (1992-2000) and returned for a faculty position in 2008. His research focuses on substance use disorder (SUD) treatment outcomes, especially among adolescents and emerging adults. The NIH, SAMHSA, the DOJ, private donations, and internal sources have funded his work. He currently directs the Center for Prevention Research and Development (CPRD; https://cprd.illinois.edu/), inside the School of Social Work. CPRD has an annual budget of approximately \$3.5 Million dollars and employees approximately 25 staff members. He has participated in numerous committees inside the School of Social Work including the executive committee, multiple faculty search committees, a Dean's fifth year review and search committee, the diversity committee, the PhD program committee, the research advisory committee, and the MSW committee.