UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON RESEARCH POLICY (Final; Information)

RP.25.07 2024-2025 Annual Report of the Senate Committee on Research Policy

This report summarizes the activities of the Senate Committee on Research Policy (RP) during the 2024-2025 academic year. RP held four meetings during the fall 2024 semester (September 25, October 16, November 13, December 4) and four meetings during the spring 2025 semester (January 27, February 17, March 31, April 21). More detailed information is provided in the minutes of those meetings.

RP received relevant updates from *ex officio* members including representatives from the Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation, the Dean of the Graduate College, the Office of the Provost, and the Illinois Campus Research Board.

I. ITEMS REMOVED FROM THE AGENDA

RP.25.01, Discussion on Previous Research Related Committees

Darla Hill, Senior Director of Audits, Office of University Audits, led a discussion on audits and previous research-related committees.

RP.25.02, Update on Research Ethics and Integrity

Jen Hardesty, Professor, Human Development & Family Studies, and Christopher Lehmann, Research Integrity Officer, Office of the Vice Chancellor of Research and Innovation, gave a presentation on research ethics and integrity.

RP.25.03, Update on Research Security

Linda Lee Drozt, Director, Office of Research Security, provided an update on research security.

RP.25.05, Update on Overview Data from Spring 2025 for the Illinois Campus Research Board

Kevin Hamilton, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research & Innovation – Humanities, Arts & Related Fields, presented an update on data from spring of 2025 for the Illinois Campus Research Board.

RP.25.06, Discussion on Proposed New and Updated Policies Regarding Eligibility as a Principal Investigator

No discussion was held on this item.

II. ITEMS UNDER CONSIDERATION BY THE COMMITTEE

RP.25.04, Discussion on Supporting a Culture of Rigorous, Innovative, and Ethical Research

An initial discussion was held on how to support a culture of rigorous, innovative, and ethical research.

RESEARCH POLICY
Marius Junge, Chair
Jennifer Cromley
Stephanie Fortado
Sara Pfannkuche
Zoeya Khan
Rurik Tywoniw
Jessica Williams
Liliane Windsor
Abigail Wooldridge
Dennis French, ex officio
Zeynep Madak-Erdogan, ex officio
Susan Martinis, ex officio
Amy Santos, ex officio