UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY STATUTES AND SENATE PROCEDURES (Final; Action)

SP.25.07 Revision to the *Bylaws*, Part D.6.b – Committee on Committees, Part D.8.d – Committee on Educational Policy, and Part D.10.b – Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (membership)

BACKGROUND

The Illinois Student Council (ISC) and the Urbana-Champaign Senate play crucial roles in shared governance at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. As an elected representation of the student body, ISC serves as the primary advocate for student interests, while the Senate is responsible for shaping academic and institutional policies. Strengthening the relationship between these two governing bodies will ensure that student perspectives are effectively represented.

To facilitate this collaboration, ISC has passed a resolution calling on the Senate to include ISC representation on several committees. These include the Committee on Educational Policy, Committee on Committees, and Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. Including ISC members on these committees will improve the sharing of information between ISC and the Senate and overall advocacy for the student body. This proposal seeks to amend the Senate *Bylaws* accordingly.

RECOMMENDATION

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends the approval of the following revisions to the *Bylaws*. Text to be deleted is struck through and text to be added is underlined. Adoption of amendments to the *Bylaws* requires a two-thirds vote of the Senate.

- 1 REVISION TO THE BYLAWS, PARTS D.6.b, D.8.d, AND D.10.b
- 2 BYLAWS PART D.6.B COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES
- 3 **6. Committee on Committees**
- 4 b. Membership
- 5 The Committee shall consist of:
- Five senators who are members of the faculty electorate at the time of
 election, with no two at most one from the same college, school, institute, or
 similar unit;.

9	2.	Three Two senators who are members of the student electorate, with no two	
10		from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit, and at least one of	
11		whom shall be an undergraduate and at least one of whom shall be a graduate	
12		or professional student; including one undergraduate and one graduate or	
13		professional student.	
14	3.	One academic professional member elected by the Senate from nominations	
15		made by the Council of Academic Professionals; and.	
16	<u>4.</u>	The Deputy Speaker of the Illinois Student Council or the Deputy's designee (ex	
17		officio with vote).	
18	4 <u>5</u>	5. The Clerk of the Senate or the Clerk's designee (ex officio).	
19			
20			
21	BYLAWS PART D.8.D – COMMITTEE ON EDUCATIONAL POLICY		
22	8. Committee on Educational Policy		
23	d. Membership		
24	The Committee shall consist of:		
25	1.	Thirteen faculty members ; .	
26	2.	One academic professional member ; .	
27	3.	Five-Four student members, including at least two undergraduate students, at	
28		least one graduate student, at least two undergraduate students, and no more-	
29		than at most one professional student;.	
30	4.	The Chairperson of the Illinois Student Council Committee on Academic Affairs	
31		or the Chairperson's designee (ex officio with vote).	
32	4 <u>5</u> .	The Provost or the Provost's designee (ex officio);.	
33	5 <u>6</u> .	The Associate Provost for Enrollment Management or the Associate Provost's	
34		designee (ex officio);	
77			
35	6 <u>7</u> .	The Executive Director of the Council on Teacher Education or the Executive	

37		7 8.	A member of the Council of Undergraduate Deans (ex officio), selected by that
38			council ;
39		8 9.	The Dean of the Graduate College or the Dean's designee (ex officio);.
40		9 10	. The Director of the Center for Innovation in Teaching and Learning or the
41			Director's designee (ex officio);.
42		10 1	<u>1</u> . The Director for General Education or the Director's designee (ex officio); and.
43		11 1	2. The Chair of the General Education Board or the Chair's designee (ex officio).
44			
45			
46	BYLAWS PART D.10.B – COMMITTEE ON DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION		
47	10. Comi	mitt	ee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
48	b.	Me	mbership
49		The	Committee shall consist of:
50		1.	Seven faculty members; .
51		2.	One academic professional member ;
52		3.	Three <u>Two</u> student members ; .
53		<u>4.</u>	The Chairperson of the Illinois Student Council Committee on Diversity, Equity,
54			and Inclusion or the Chairperson's designee (ex officio with vote).
55		4 <u>5</u> .	The Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion or the Vice Chancellor's
56			designee (<i>ex officio</i>) ; .
57		5 6.	The Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs or the Vice Chancellor's designee (ex
58			officio) , and .
59		<u>67</u> .	Up to three non-voting members, recommended by the voting members and
60			approved by the Senate, from underrepresented, historically disadvantaged, or
61			marginalized groups, recommended by the voting members and approved by the
62			<u>Senate</u> .

Minjoo Chong
Hunter Farnham
Shawn Gilmore
Michael Grossman
William Maher
Megan Pickens
Lindsey Stirek
Kelli Trei
Laura Czys, ex officio
Jessica Mette, ex officio
Jenny Roether, ex officio