April 25, 2025

Professor Jon Hale University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate Senate Executive Committee Chair jonhale2@illinois.edu

## Daily Illini, WPGU and Illio Alumni Letter in Support Of Mutual Academic Defense Compact

Dear Professor Hale,

We are a group of University alumni who are also former Daily Illini, WPGU and Illio staff members. We write in support of those members of the faculty Senate seeking passage of the "Rutgers Resolution" Mutual Academic Defense Compact. We hope you will communicate our support to those members, and to the entire body.

These are not normal times. We are in new territory. We are alarmed by government efforts to consolidate dispersed power into the hands of a would-be monarch who is employing a divide-and-conquer strategy. High on his list are actions to consolidate power over colleges and universities nationwide. The Trump administration is <u>acting to</u> <u>dictate</u> what universities can teach, who they can admit, who they can hire, what areas of study and inquiry they can pursue, how and for what their students should be disciplined, and what viewpoints groups of students and faculty must have.

If these efforts are successful it is easy to see they will apply to student media as well. We shudder at that thought, and what it will teach to aspiring young journalists.

Tyrannical demands will never be satisfied—they will only increase after each capitulation. Solidarity is obviously critical in the face of a divide-and-conquer strategy that seeks to implement an existential threat.

We are heartened to see Harvard University tell the Trump administration "not to us you won't." We are heartened to learn that more than 240 college and university presidents and chancellors signed on to a <u>public statement</u> supporting constructive reform, opposing undue government intrusion, and rejecting coercive use of research funding. We are heartened to see that on April 23 University of Illinois Chancellor Robert Jones signed the statement, taking the UI a significant step forward toward solidarity with other higher education institutions.

We understand the UI faculty senate <u>will consider</u> a larger step this coming Monday—a resolution supporting a <u>Mutual Academic Defense Compact</u> among the 18 members of the Big Ten Academic Alliance. The compact is proposed by the Rutgers University faculty senate and has been since <u>endorsed</u> by a number of faculty senates.

The compact would take concrete and necessary measures to protect academic freedom and prevent a would-be king from consolidating all power over higher education in the United States. It would establish a shared defense fund to provide immediate support to any university under direct legal or political infringement. Members would jointly coordinate a "unified and vigorous response" to threats, including "Legal representation and countersuit actions; strategic public communication; amicus briefs and expert testimony; legislative advocacy and coalition-building; related topical research as needed."

This is a sound idea that should be expanded outside the Big Ten. We understand that any such compact would need to be implemented by the University of Illinois administration in conjunction with others. We understand that some potentially thorny details would need to be worked out. We respectfully request the faculty Senate to take the next step, so we can move on together to take the one after that.

Sincerely,

Rick Pope, BS Journalism 1974, JD 1979, Daily Illini 1971-1974 Russ Mitchell, BS Communications 1977, Daily Illini 1975-1977 Nina Ovryn, BFA Graphic Design 1977, Daily Illini and Illio, 1973-1977 Barry Kliff, BS Journalism 1978, Daily Illini 1974-1978 Kevin Horan, BS Journalism 1976, Daily Illini 1971-1975 Mark Wukas, BA LAS 1977, MA English 1979, Daily Illini 1976-1978 Charles Meyerson, BS Journalism 1977, MS Journalism 1978, WPGU 1973-1977, Illio 1974, 1976 Lisa Krimen, Daily Illini 1974-1978 Sarah Hoban, BS Journalism 1978; Daily Illini 1976-78 Jeff Brody, BS Journalism 1974, MS Economics 1987; Daily Illini 1971-74 Terry Carnes, BS Journalism 1977, MA Public Affairs Reporting 1978, Daily Illini 1973-1977 Arnie Weissmann, BA Rhetoric 1977, Daily Illini 1975-1977 Lizanne (Poppens) Denius, BS Journalism 1977, Daily Illini 1973-1977 Dave Johnson, BS Journalism 1978, Daily Illini 1974-1978 Nancy Sasamoto, BS Journalism 1977, Daily Illini 1974-1976, Illio 1976-1977 Mary A Brown, BS LAS Biology 1984

Cathy Saxenmeyer Ritter, BS Journalism 1977, MS Journalism 1979, Daily Illini 1976-78 Bill Cohn, BS Electrical Engineering 1973, WPGU 1971-1973 Mitch Kazel, BS Computer Science 1981, MS Journalism 1982, WPGU 1978-1981 Paul Wood, BA LAS History 1977, Daily Illini 1973-19977 Marcy Watson, BS Journalism 1979, WPGU 1975-1978 **Rick O'Dell**, BA Speech Communication 1980, MA Speech Communication 1981, WPGU 1976-1980 Brent PetersenBS Business 1987, WPGU 1984-1986 Eric Schmidt, BA Journalism 1995, Illio 1991-1995 Carrie Schmidt, BA Journalism 1995, WPGU 1993-1995 Terry Becker, BS LAS Pre-vet 1969, DVM 1970, WPGU 1966-1970 Veronica Rusnak, BA LAS English, 1983, Daily Illini and WPGU 1980-83 Jerry Role, BA Political Science 1979, WPGU 1974-1978 Jeffrey Marsh, BS Electrical Engineering 1977, Daily Illini 1974-1977 Chris Walker, BS Communications 1976, Daily Illini and Illio 1972-1976 Ann Johnson Arellano, BS Journalism 1976, Daily Illini 1974-1976, Illio 1975-76 Howard Anderson, BS Journalism 1977, Daily Illini 1973-1977, Illio 1976-77 Michele Horaney, BS Journalism 1979, Daily Illini 1975-1979 Julia Weinshelbaum, BS Journalism 1977, WPGU 1975-1977 Sher Watts Spooner, BA LAS 1976, Daily Illini 1972-76 Bob DalSanto, BS Journalism 1977, Daily Illini 1974-1977, Illio 1976-1977 Randall Kulat, BA LAS 1977, JD Law 1980, Daily Illini 1973-1977, Illini Publishing Company board 1978-1980 Elizabeth Austin, BS Journalism 1980, Daily Illini 1976-1980 John Slocum, BA Political Science 1984, WPGU 1979-1983 Curt Pesmen, BS Business Administration 1978, Daily Illini 1974-1978 Larry Doyle, BS Biology 1980, MS Journalism 1982, Daily Illini 1977-1982 Leslie Miller, BS Journalism 1978, Daily Illini 1974-1978 Kurt Wehrmeister, BS Journalism 1979, WPGU 1975-78, Daily Illini 1978-79 Craig Beardsley, BS Business Administration 1979, WPGU 1973-1975 & 1977-1979 Ron Logsdon, BA LAS 1972, Daily Illini 1970-1972 and 1974-1976 Ted Cox, BS Journalism 1981, Daily Illini 1978-1981 Melissa Silverberg Meyer, BS Journalism 2011, BA Political Science 2011, Daily Illini 2007-2011 Susan J. Smith Cornwell, BS Journalism 1977, MA Public Affairs Reporting 1979, Daily Illini 1973-1977 Diane Marie Amann, BS Journalism 1979; Daily Illini 1975-1979 June Rogoznica, BS Journalism 1979, Daily Illini 1977-1979 Celeste Wroblewski, BA 1981 LAS Comparative Literature, Daily Illini 1977-1981

**Michael Weiland,** BS Mathematics & Computer Science 1980, MS Computer Science 1981; WPGU 1976-1981.

**Bruce Little,** BS Journalism 1977, JD Law 1984, Daily Illini 1973-1976, Illini Publishing Co. student member of the Board of Directors 1983-1984

Betty Lee, BA 1971 LAS English, Daily Illini 1969-1972

**G.P. Labedz,** BS Electrical Engineering 1972, MS Electrical Engineering 1975, Daily Illini 1971-1975

Louise Gilmore Donahue, BS Journalism 1976, Daily Illini 1972-1976

Irv Leavitt, BS Journalism 1978, Daily Illini 1976-1978

Lynne Stiefel, BS Communications 1977, WPGU 1973-1976