# UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES (Final; Action)

CC.25.02 Election of the 2024-2025 Senate Executive Committee (SEC) Vice-Chair

#### BACKGROUND

The Senate Executive Committee Vice-Chair shall 1) Ensure that Senate committees submit and share annual reports with the Senate; and 2) Perform other duties as the Senate Executive Committee or Senate Executive Committee Chair shall specify. (*Bylaws* Part D.1.b)

The Senate Executive Committee Chair and Vice-Chair shall be elected by and from the membership of the Senate, and who shall be the presiding officers of the Senate Executive Committee. The officers of the Senate Executive Committee shall be elected for terms of one year. (*Bylaws* Part D.1.c-d)

#### NOMINATIONS

Nominations for Executive Committee officers shall be made by the incumbent Committee on Committees. Nominations may also be made by others and must be accompanied by consent to serve from the person nominated. Nominations must be received in the Senate Office prior to the date set by the Senate Executive Committee. The nominations will clearly distinguish between Chair and Vice-Chair. The nominator shall provide a brief biographical sketch of each nominee. (*Bylaws* Part A.7.d)

The Senate Committee on Committees nominates the following senator for a one-year term as Vice-Chair of the Senate Executive Committee (SEC) ending in 2025. A statement of interest is included.

Vincent Feldman	(Undergraduate Student, LAS)
Patrick Holt	(Undergraduate Student, DGS)
Angela Lyons	(Associate Professor, ACES)

2023-2024 Сомміттее ом Сомміттееs Chaya Sandler, Chair Maya Crystal John Dallesasse Prasanta Kalita Robin Kar Hayden Noel Carol Symes Isaac Zipperstein Jenny Roether, *ex officio* 

## **STATEMENT OF INTEREST**

## Vincent Feldman (Undergraduate Student, LAS)

Involved, active, and energetic member of our campus. Currently serving on the Illinois Student Council. My time on campus amongst various student groups has given me a degree of experience that is necessary to understand the nuances of student life. I will work closely with both faculty and student leaders to promote a positive culture on campus.

#### Patrick Holt (Undergraduate Student, DGS)

I am Patrick Holt, I am currently a student senator from the Division of General Studies. While it may be unusual for student senators to aim for such positions within the senate, I fully believe that I can faithfully execute the duties of this position. I nominated myself for the position of Vice Chair to show this dedication. I think that students do not take enough of an interest in the representation that they have in the senate and that it is important for students to find that voice, and advocate for themselves to the UIUC Campus Senate to ensure a diverse and enriching campus environment for professors, faculty, students, and staff alike.

## Angela Lyons (Associate Professor, ACES)

Angela Lyons, an Associate Professor in the Department of Agricultural and Consumer Economics, has exemplified a steadfast commitment to shared governance throughout her tenure at UIUC. Since 2009, she has contributed her expertise to various committees within the Faculty Senate, including Admissions and Budgeting. For the past three years, Dr. Lyons has served as the Chair of the Senate Committee on Faculty and Academic Staff Benefits, where she has driven significant action on crucial issues concerning faculty and staff salaries, retirement benefits, healthcare coverage and employee well-being, and parental leave policy enhancements. Her leadership has resulted in tangible improvements benefiting faculty and staff across the institution. Additionally, Dr. Lyons plays integral roles on both the Senate Executive Committee (SEC) and the University Senates Conference (USC), furthering collaborative decision-making and advocating for the interests of faculty and staff both on the UIUC campus and at the system level. Moving forward, Dr Lyons is dedicated to fostering inclusive governance that ensures all voices are heard in Senate discussions and community engagements. She remains committed to advancing collaborations with committee chairs and the Offices of the Provost and the Chancellor to uphold the highest standards and best practices of shared governance.