UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES (Final; Action)

CC.25.04 Election of Faculty Senators to the 2024-2025 Senate Committee on University Senates Conference (USC)

BACKGROUND

The University Senates Conference is a System-wide body established by the *Statutes* and composed of a total of twenty representatives from the several university senates. The number of representatives from each senate is specified in the *Statutes* [Article II, Section 2.a.1]. The representatives are elected by their respective senates for three-year terms beginning on the first day of the academic year following their election and must be faculty senators at the time their committee term begins. As close to one-third as possible of the representatives from each senate are elected each year. Representatives from the Urbana-Champaign Senate may serve no more than two full terms consecutively. (*Bylaws* Part D.18)

The Senate Committee on the University Senates Conference shall keep the Senate informed concerning matters before the Conference and represent the interests of the Senate in the Conference. One member of the Committee on University Senates Conference shall be elected to the Senate Executive Committee, as prescribed in *Bylaw* D, 1 (b).

Members of the Urbana delegation to the USC, and the year their terms expire are listed below. Members in *italics* have terms expiring.

2024		2025		2026	
Nicholas Burbules	EDUC	Roy Campbell	ENGR	Prasanta Kalita	ACES
John Dallesasse	ENGR	Jeffrey Eric Jenkins	FAA	Angela Lyons	ACES
Linda Moorhouse	FAA	Carol Leff	LAS	Carol Symes	LAS
				Joyce Tolliver	LAS

NOMINATIONS

The Senate Committee on Committees nominates the following faculty senators for a threeyear term on the University Senates Conference (USC), expiring in **2027**. Statements of interest are included.

William Maher	LIBR
Linda Moorhouse	FAA
Jon Hale	EDUC

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's willingness to serve if elected and indicate the position to be filled, or the nominee's oral acceptance if present. A statement of interest limited to 150 words is also requested.

Carol Symes Isaac Zipperstein Jenny Roether, *ex officio*

STATEMENTS OF INTEREST

William Maher (LIBR)

William Maher previously served on the University Senates Conference 2013-19 and 2020-23 and its Executive Committee (2018-19, 2020-22). William is deeply committed to shared governance as evidenced by over 20 years in the Senate and by the 2017 Campus Outstanding Faculty Leadership Award. He has been a member (2005-24) and chair (2006-17) of the University Statutes and Senate Procedures Committee and member of the Senate Executive Committee (2006-17). William was selected by the Senate to serve on Chancellor search committees in 2011 and 2016. Throughout, William has worked to provide an independent voice; critically assess all calls, whether from administration or senators; and evaluate initiatives and resolutions constructively without partisanship or preconceptions.

Linda Moorhouse (FAA)

Linda R. Moorhouse is a Professor of Conducting in the School of Music in the College of Fine and Applied Arts. As a wind band conductor, she has been recognized nationally and internationally for her leadership and work in music and music education. She has been a member of the University of Illinois faculty since fall 2010 and has served campus and the Senate in a variety of roles, including membership on the University Senate Committee on Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources, and Support; Provost's Task Force on Contingency Planning; Provost's Task Force on Student Code Academic Policies; Provost's Task Force on Course Modalities; and the recent Search Committee for Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost. She has been a member of the Senate Committee on Educational Policy for six years and is a Fellow of the Big Ten Academic Alliance Academic Leadership Program.

Jon Hale (EDUC)

Dr. Jon Hale is an associate professor of education and educational history at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in the Departments of Education Policy, Organization and Leadership and Curriculum and Instruction. Dr. Hale was elected to serve as the Vice-Chair of the SEC in 2022 and continues to serve in this role. He is also a member of the Athletic Board for the Division of Intercollegiate Athletics at UIUC and currently serves as a Vice President of the American Educational Research Association. Dr. Hale's research focuses on the history of student activism and the intersection of race and educational policy. He explores this in five authored and co-edited books, including his award-winning book, The Freedom Schools: A History of Student Activists on the Frontlines of the Mississippi Civil Rights Movement. His research has also been featured in outlets including C-Span, The Atlantic, The American Scholar, The New Yorker, the Chicago Tribune, CNN, and The Washington Post. Dr. Hale's service to the wider community is connected broadly to historic civil rights education initiatives including the Children's Defense Fund Freedom School program.