## UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES (Final; Action)

## CC.25.10 Student Nominations to the 2024-2025 Joint Advisory Committee on Investment, Licensing, and Naming Rights

## BACKGROUND

The Joint Advisory Committee on Investment, Licensing, and Naming Rights (1) Provides advice, consistent with the values of the University, to the Office of the Chancellor on issues of social responsibility related to campus investment, licensing, and naming rights. Such issues may include licensing the University's names, symbols, and insignia; supporting workers' rights and fair labor practices; sponsoring products; and advancing corporate social responsibility. (2) Reviews proposals to name campus buildings, classrooms, or other physical facilities for donors or other honorees. (3) Fulfills the Senate's requirement to provide advice regarding eponymic renaming of academic units (*Statutes*, Article VIII, Section 4). And (4) Reports promptly to the Senate outcomes of its votes on eponymic renaming of academic units, anonymized as appropriate.

Three student members shall be appointed by the Chancellor, in consultation with the Chair of the Senate Executive Committee, from nominations of at least two individuals for each vacancy made by the Committee on Committees and approved by the Senate. The three student members shall serve renewable terms of one year.

## NOMINATIONS

The Senate Committee on Committees recommends approval of the following slate of nominees to fill three student vacancies including at least one undergraduate student and at least one graduate or professional student, with terms expiring in 2025.

Graduate/Professional Nominees		Undergraduate Nominees	
Faith Onuchukwu	GRAD	Milosh Sasic	ENGR
		Kayvon Tahmassebi	LAS

If no additional nominations are made, the nominees below will be forwarded to the Chancellor for selection of three students to serve. Student members shall serve renewable terms of one year.

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's willingness to serve if elected and indicate the position to be filled, or the nominee's oral acceptance if present. A statement of interest limited to 150 words is also requested.

2023-2024 COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES Chaya Sandler, Chair

Maya Crystal John Dallesasse Prasanta Kalita Robin Kar Hayden Noel Carol Symes Isaac Zipperstein Jenny Roether, *ex officio*