UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (Final; Action)

SC.25.01 Election of Faculty Senators to the 2024-2025 Committee on Committees

BACKGROUND

The Committee shall consist of five senators who are members of the faculty electorate at the time of election, with no two from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit.

Continuing faculty members with terms expiring 2025 are as follows:

Robin Kar (LAW) Prasanta Kalita (ACES) Carol Symes (LAS)

Nominations for the Committee on Committees shall be made by the incumbent Senate Executive Committee. Nominations may also be made for faculty committee positions by faculty senators. Nominees must be faculty senators at the time the committee term begins.

NOMINATIONS

The Senate Executive Committee (SEC) nominates the following faculty senators to serve a twoyear term ending 2026.

Kent Choquette	ENGR	Linda Herrera	EDUC
Caitlin Vitosky Clarke	AHS	Matthew Hutchins	BUS

Each senator may vote for up to two nominees. The two nominees with the highest number of votes will be declared elected, with no two from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit. Cumulative voting shall not be allowed. Statements of interest are included.

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's willingness to serve if elected and indicate the position to be filled, or the nominee's oral acceptance if present. Nominees must be senators at the time the term begins. A statement of interest limited to 150 words is also requested.

2023-2024 SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, Chair	David Forsyth	Gay
Jon Hale, Vice-Chair	Steve Hall	Nol
Nicholas Burbules	Yvette Johnson-Walker	Jam
Angel Chatterton	Alex Koscielski	Cha
Maya Crystal	Angela Lyons	Josl
David Dalpiaz	Beth Meschewski	Joy

Gay Miller Nolan Miller James Quisenberry Chaya Sandler Josh Small Joyce Tolliver

H. George Friedman, *ex officio* Robert Jones, *ex officio* **STATEMENTS OF INTEREST**

Kent Choquette – Professor/Electrical and Computer Engineering/ENGR

I am nominating myself for the Senate Committee on Committees. I have been a Professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department for the past 23 years and over the years have served multiple terms on the Campus Senate, the Senate Committee on Student Life, and the Military Education Committee. Shared governance is an important obligation of faculty on this campus that if not practiced will disappear.

Caitlin Vitosky Clarke – Teaching Assistant Professor/Kinesiology and Community Health/AHS

Caitlin Clarke is Teaching Assistant Professor in Kinesiology and Community Health. She currently serves as chair of the Academic Progress and Eligibility Committee (APEC) for the Athletic Board and member of the Senate Committee on Student Discipline. In addition, Dr. Clarke serves as a member of the AHS Engaged Unit team, the KCH Undergraduate Advisory Committee, and the KCH Internship Committee. Dr. Clarke previously served on the Senate Committee on Educational Policy, Student Life, and the campus Wellness committee. As Teaching faculty, Dr. Clarke oversees the community health internship program and teaches KIN 104 ice skating course. Dr. Clarke has been cautioned against additional service roles but values the integral role of committees and service for shared governance. Thus, if no others are available to serve, she is able to support the Committee on Committees (to whom she is grateful for their prior careful consideration of her service assignment requests).

Linda Herrera – Professor/Education Policy, Organization, and Leadership/EDUC

I am running for the Senate Committee on Committees because of my conviction that universities need to work to preserve traditions and practices of self-governance. We are at an historical juncture where faculty governance is under strain, if not direct threat due to a combination of political, economic, and ideological factors. As an educator who has researched and taught global studies of higher education in different eras, I do not take the rights we currently hold for granted. The cherished traditions of higher learning we enjoy at UIUC academic freedom, pluralism, critical inquiry, interdisciplinary collaboration, to name a few, and our privileged position as educators who guide students as they find their way as engaged, ethical, humans and citizens, demands work and perseverance. For these reasons I have joined the Senate and am interested in serving on the Senate Committee on Committees.

Matthew Hutchins – Lecturer/Accountancy/BUS

Matthew Hutchens is a Lecturer of Accountancy in the Gies College of Business. He joined the faculty in 2017 and teaches tax courses in various accounting graduate programs. Prior to working at Illinois, Matthew was a tax attorney at a non-profit legal aid organization and before that, a CPA working in public accounting.