Senate of the Urbana-Champaign Campus

Academic Calendars Agendas & Minutes CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degrees Senate/SEC Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members Senator Guide

February 12, 2001


Committee on Committees
(Final -Action)

CC.01.10 Senate Approval of Nominations for the Athletic Board


The Athletic Board includes seven faculty members and one student member who are appointed by the Chancellor from nominations submitted by the Urbana-Champaign Senate. (The Chancellor also appoints one student each from nominations from the Student Athlete Advisory Board and the Illinois Student Government.) Terms of faculty ordinarily shall be four years; terms of students ordinarily shall be one year, with the possibility of reappointment for an additional year. The terms of two faculty members, John Braden and Barrington Coleman, and student member Amanda Vinicky, expire at the end of the annual meeting of the Athletic Board in the summer of 2001. Continuing faculty members of the Athletic Board and the expiration of their terms are as follows:

Lawrence M. DeBrock CBA 2003
J. Fred Giertz CBA 2002
William D. O'Brien, Jr. ENGR 2003
Matthew Wheeler ACES 2004
Joyce Wright LIBR 2002

The Committee on Committees recommends approval of the following slate of nominees. (Biographical information pertaining to each nominee is attached.)


To fill two faculty positions for terms expiring in 2005:

Mark Clark ENGR
Susan I. Cohen CBA
Charles Terry LAW
Juliet Walker LAS

To fill one student position for term expiring in 2002:

Leslie Ackerman LAS
Amanda Vinicky LAS

Karen Chapman-Novakofski, Chair
Oscar Biondolillo
Meredith Blumthal
Peter Colwell
Thomas F. Conry
Linda C. Smith
Billy Vaughn
Emily Watts

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.