University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate

Academic Calendars CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degree Awards SEC Meeting Schedule Senate Agendas & Minutes Senate Meeting Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members Senator Guide

April 18, 2005


Committee on Committees

CC.06.01 Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference (USC)


There are nine (9) representatives from the Urbana campus to the University Senates Conference. Continuing members of the Urbana delegation to the USC, and the years their terms expire:

Joseph Finnerty BUS 2006
Barclay Jones ENGR 2006
Al Kagan LIBR 2007
Mary Mallory LIBR 2007
Richard Schacht LAS 2006
Matthew Wheeler ACES 2007


The following faculty senators are nominated for three-year terms on USC, expiring in 2008. (See below for bio-sketches of each nominee.) If no additional nominations are made, the three (3) nominees below will be declared elected:

Robert Fossum LAS
Michael Grossman ACES
Joyce Tolliver LAS

Committee on Committees

John Prussing, Chair
Ward Henson
Lewis Hopkins
Kristoffer Inton
Gay Miller
Dan Peterson
Nina Tarr

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Robert Fossum (LAS) Robert Fossum obtained his B.A. at St. Olaf College in 1959 and his Ph.D. in Mathematics at the University of Michigan in 1965. He came to the Department of Mathematics in the University of Illinois in 1964 as an Instructor and was promoted through the ranks, becoming a Professor in 1972. Fossum has been a Fulbright Grantee at the University of Oslo, and a visiting professor at the Sorbonne in Paris. Fossum was elected to the Royal Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Arts in 1994. He was named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2000. He has been editor of several journals for the American Mathematical Society (AMS) and served as Associate Secretary and then ten years as Secretary of the Society.

He was a member and chair of numerous AMS committees. He was instrumental in beginning joint mathematics meetings co-hosted by the AMS and other national mathematical societies. At Illinois he has served on many departmental, college, campus, and university committees, including the University Statutes and Senate Procedures (USSP), University Senates Conference, and on the Senate Executive Committee (as chair). Currently Fossum is chair of the Campus Charitable Fund Drive. Fossum is a Professor of Mathematics and a Professor in Beckman Institute. He is an affiliate professor of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He conducts research in algebraic geometry and within the Image Formation and Processing Group at Beckman Institute.

Fossum believes the faculty and students of the University should have a leading role in setting policy and governing the campus. This can best be accomplished through a strong Senate that is representative and responsible. As a member of the University Senates Conference and its representative to the Senate Executive Committee, Fossum will attempt to continue the dialogue that has been developed with the Trustees, the Central Administration, and the campus administration through which views of the students and faculty can be expressed. He believes in effective governance shared by the Senate and the Administration.

Michael Grossman (ACES) Michael Grossman is Professor of Genetics in Animal Sciences and of Biometrics in Statistics. His research and teaching are in population and quantitative genetics and in mathematical modeling in life sciences. He has served in the UIUC Senate (1988-93, 1997-99, 2002-06) on Educational Policy Committee (1989-91 and 1991-93, vice-chair) and on General University Policy Committee (1997-99, chair). He served two years as Chair of the Senate Executive Committee (2003-05).

He was a member of the Statues Committee (2002-03) of the University Senates Conference (2002-05), and he is completing a term as Chair of the Conference (2004-2005). At the university level, he served on the Consultative Committee for the Search for President of the University (2004). At the campus level, he served on the Search Committee for Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs (1998) and on the Promotion and Tenure Committee (1998-2000). He served on the College of ACES Executive Committee (1982-84; 1989-91; 1996-97, vice-chair), and was elected to serve again for 2002-04.

He chaired the college's Bylaw Revision Committee from 1994-98 and again 2002-04, and served as a member from 1999-2000 and 2004-05. He served also as Associate Dean of the Graduate College (half-time, 1989-92), as Associate Head of Animal Sciences (1998), and as first Chair of the Executive Committee for the campus-wide Genetics Program (1992-95). He participated in the SAES/ESCOP Leadership Development Course (1992-93) for ACES.

Joyce Tolliver (LAS) Joyce Tolliver, Associate Professor of Spanish, joined the faculty of the Dept. of Spanish, Italian, and Portuguese in 1991. She was Director of Spanish Undergraduate Honors (1992-2001) and SIP Director of Graduate Studies (2001-2004), and was honored with the Graduate College Outstanding Mentor Award in 2000. She served as Chair of the Humanities and Creative Arts Area Committee of the Graduate College Fellowship Board, and has served on the Graduate

College Fellowship Board Executive Committee, the Advisory Committee for Study Abroad Programs, and the Graduate College Outstanding Mentor Selection Committee. In LAS, she is currently a member of the Policy and Development Committee, the Advisory Committee for Individual Programs of Study, and the LAS Teaching Academy Faculty Mentoring Program, and has served on the Courses and Curricula Committee, the Learning Communities Advisory Board, and the Humanities Scholarships and Honors Committee.

Her departmental service work includes multiple elections to the Advisory Committee, as well as chairing the Curriculum, Graduate Recruitment and Admissions, Graduate Progress and Awards, and Prelims and Proposals Structure committees and serving on numerous others. She is currently serving her third term as Senate representative for SIP, and is serving out a term on the University Senates Conference.