University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate

Academic Calendars CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degree Awards SEC Meeting Schedule Senate Agendas & Minutes Senate Meeting Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members Senator Guide

February 28, 2011


Committee on Committees

CC.11.09     Approval of Nominations for the Athletic Board

The Athletic Board includes seven faculty members (plus two Big Ten faculty representatives) and two student members who are appointed by the Chancellor from nominations submitted by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Senate.  (The Chancellor also appoints one student from nominations from the Student Athlete Advisory Board.)  Terms of faculty ordinarily shall be four years; terms of students ordinarily shall be one year, with the possibility of reappointment for an additional year.  The terms of faculty members C. L. Cole and Cleo D’Arcy and student members Kyle Branyik and Christina Fertl expire at the end of the annual meeting of the Athletic Board in the summer of 2011.  Continuing faculty members of the Athletic Board and the expiration of their terms are as follows:
Rayvon Fouche  LAS                  2014
Margaret Kelley LAS                  2013
Mary Mallory     LIBR                 2012
Brent Roberts    LAS                  2014
Thomas Ulen     LAW                 2013
The Committee on Committees recommends approval of the following slate of nominees.  (Submitted interest statements for nominees may be found here.)

To fill two faculty positions for four-year terms expiring in 2015:
Cleo D’Arcy
Scott Paluska
Chris Span

To fill two student positions for one year terms expiring in 2012:
Kaitylyn Hastings
Tommy Heiser
Jenna Sansing
Sam Shiner


Committee on Committees
Kim Graber, Chair

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected.  The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled.  If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.