UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Committee on Committees (Final; Action)

CC.19.01 Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference (USC)

Background

The University of Illinois Statutes, Article II, Section 2. a. (1) state:

The University Senates Conference shall be made up of twenty members. The basic representation shall be two members from each senate. Additional members shall be apportioned to each senate, at least one from each senate, in numbers proportional to the number of faculty members on each campus. The apportionment shall be recalculated every five years. Each senate shall elect its own representatives from its membership.

The Urbana-Champaign campus has ten (10) representatives to the University Senates Conference. Members of the Urbana delegation to the USC, and the years their terms expire. Members in *italics* have terms expiring.

James Brennan	LAS	2020	William Maher	LIBR	2019
Nicholas Burbules	EDUC	2020	Gay Miller	VMED	2019
Bettina Francis	LAS	2020	Joyce Tolliver	LAS	2020
Harley Johnson	ENGR	2018	Terry Weech	SIS	2018
Prasanta Kalita	ACES	2019	Matthew Wheeler	ACES	2018

Nominations

The following faculty are each nominated for a three-year term on USC, expiring in 2021. A statement of interest and experience for each nominee is included below. If no additional nominations are made, these individuals will be declared elected:

John Dallesasse	ENGR		
Harley T. Johnson	ENGR		
Christopher M. Span	EDUC		

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

Nancy O'Brien, Chair
Roy Campbell
Tim Flanagin
Daniel Gilbert
Jennifer Monson
Annalisa Roncone
Ryan Schiffer
Joyce Tolliver
Michael Whitlow
Jenny Roether, ex officio

All nominations submitted from the Senate floor must include 1.) Nominee's name, 2.) Nominee's statement of willingness to serve, and 3.) A 150 words or less statement of interest and experience. Nominees must be faculty members or members-elect of their senates at the time of their election. Nominations from the floor can be presented solely in printed form, in the same manner as the slate brought forward by Committee on Committees.

JOHN DALLESASSE (ENGR)

I'm very happy to be nominated to serve on the University Senates Conference, and look forward to the opportunity to represent UIUC. I came back to the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering as a faculty member after a 20-year career in industry because I wanted to do my part in helping to sustain the academic excellence of our institution. If elected, I will do my best to continue to serve that mission. My background prior to joining the University includes positions in technology and executive management, with responsibilities that included guiding the strategic direction of organizations. I serve as an Associate Editor for the IEEE Journal of Quantum Electronics, am on the Steering Committee for the IEEE Journal of Lightwave Technology, and chair the Steering Committee for the IEEE Transactions on Semiconductor Manufacturing. At UIUC, I serve on the ECE Department's Advisory Committee, represent the faculty on the ECE Alumni Board, and chair the Campus Operations Committee. My technical contributions include, with Nick Holonyak, Jr., the discovery of III-V Oxidation – an enabling technology for the fabrication of high-speed vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers. I am a member of the American Physical Society, and am a Fellow of the Optical Society of America and the IEEE.

HARLEY T. JOHNSON (ENGR)

Harley Johnson is a Professor of Mechanical Science and Engineering, and OVCR Faculty Fellow. He is completing his first term on the University Senates Conference, and is a member of the executive committee and chair of the finance subcommittee. He is a 2017-2018 Fellow of the President's Executive Leadership Program, representing the shared governance system. He chairs the College of Engineering Advisory Committee on Diversity and Inclusion and is a member of the Senate Committee on Equal Opportunity and Inclusion (EQ). He joined UIUC in 2001 as an assistant professor, and leads an active research group in materials for electronics and solar energy. His research and teaching recognitions include a 2014-2015 Fulbright, an NSF CAREER Award, Fellow status in the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and many times on the List of Excellent Teachers. He received his Ph.D. from Brown University, where he was Co-President of the Graduate Student Council.

CHRISTOPHER M. SPAN (EDUC)

Christopher M. Span (Department of Education Policy, Organization, and Leadership, College of Education), received his baccalaureate, master, and doctorate from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His research interests pertain to the educational history of African Americans in the 19th and 20th century. He is past co-editor of the History of Education Quarterly, the number one journal in his field. He is the Vice President of Division F (History and Historiography) for the American Educational Research Association (AERA). He is one of two faculty athletics representatives at Illinois, has served on a number of Chancellor-or Provost-appointed committees, including the Campus Budget Oversight Committee (CBOC) and the Committee on Race and Ethnicity (CORE), and has an extensive service record across campus, the Champaign-Urbana community, his profession, discipline, and state. His efforts have built bridges and partnerships that have enhanced the overall profile of the university.