University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate

Academic Calendars CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degree Awards SEC Meeting Schedule Senate Agendas & Minutes Senate Meeting Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members Senator Guide

January 21, 1998


Committee on Committees
(Final -Action)

CC.98.08 Nominations for Faculty Membership on the Search Committee for a Provost and Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs


After Provost and Vice-Chancellor Larry Faulkner announced his resignation, effective in April 1998, Chancellor Aiken consulted with Senate Council and both concurred that a search committee be formed. The Senate Council Chair wrote to both faculty and student senators ¾ as well as deans, directors, and department heads¾ to solicit nominations. The Committee on Committees received and evaluated 84 faculty nominations and 6 undergraduate and 6 graduate nominations.

According to procedures established in previous searches, the search committee will consist of five faculty members and two students (one undergraduate and one graduate or professional) to be elected by the Senate and one academic professional and three additional faculty (of which one or more may be serving as administrators) to be appointed by the Chancellor. The Chancellor will appoint a chair from among the eight faculty members of the committee.

Faculty Nominees (5 to be elected)

Ilesanmi Adesida, ENGR
Richard "Chip" Burkhardt, LAS
Larry DeBrock, CBA
Lizanne DeStefano, EDUC
William Greenough, LAS
Michael Grossman, ACES
Wanda M. Haschek-Hock, VMED
William Maher, LIBR
Dianne Pinderhughes, LAS
Wesley Seitz, ACES
Ira Solomon, CBA

Committee on Committees
Nancy O’Brien, Chair
Kim Aichele
May R. Berenbaum
Timothy Butler
Tom R. Ward
Cynthia Wilson
Richard E. Ziegler

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee’s signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The Statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee’s oral statement will suffice.