# UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE Senate Executive Committee

(Final; Action)

SC.19.03 Election of Two Faculty Members to the Committee on Committees

## BACKGROUND

The Committee shall consist of five senators who are members of the faculty electorate at the time of election, with no two from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit.

Continuing faculty members of the Committee on Committees and expiration of their terms are as follows:

Roy Campbell	ENGR	2019
Nancy O'Brien	LIBR	2019
Joyce Tolliver	LAS	2019

Nominations for the Committee on Committees shall be made by the incumbent Senate Executive Committee. Nominations may also be made for faculty committee positions by faculty senators. Each nomination shall be accompanied by the consent of the nominee and a short statement of interest and experience. Nominees must be senators at the time the committee term begins.

### NOMINATIONS

The following faculty members (statements of interest and experience attached) are nominated to fill two annual faculty vacancies. The two people with the highest number of votes will be declared elected.

Lawrence DeBrock	BUS
Jennifer Monson	FAA
Christopher M. Span	EDUC

### **SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

Bettina Francis, Chair Nancy O'Brien, Vice Chair Nicholas Burbules Shawn Gilmore Kim Graber Sam LeRoy William Maher Gay Miller Scott Morris Bryan Parthum Rahul Raju Jeff Stein Mark Steinberg Matthew Wheeler

Nominations from the floor must be senators at the time the committee term begins and must include the nominee's willingness to serve along with a short statement of interest and experience. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.

# FACULTY STATEMENTS OF INTEREST AND EXPERIENCE

# Lawrence DeBrock (BUS)

Lawrence DeBrock, Professor of Finance and Dean Emeritus, College of Business, earned his Ph.D. in Economics from Cornell in 1980. He served as the ninth Dean of the College of Business from 2009-2015. Prior to that, he served as Interim Dean, Acting Associate Dean of Faculty as well as Associate Dean for Graduate and Professional Programs in the College of Business. Professor DeBrock has long been associated with the Illinois MBA and has won many awards in teaching, including the Campus Award for Excellence in Graduate and Professional Teaching in 2001 and the Campus Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching (the Luckman Award) in 1992. 2017-18 will be his 39<sup>th</sup> year on the faculty at the University of Illinois.

Campus Service, Previous 5 Years: Chair, IGPA Transition Task Force, 2017; Chair, Budget Reform Implementation Committee, 2017-2018; Campus Budget Oversight Committee, 2016-2017, 2017-2018; Search Committee, Executive Associate Dean and Chief Diversity Officer, Carle Illinois College of Medicine, 2017; Search Committee, Associate Dean for Finance and Administration, Carle Illinois College of Medicine, 2017; Committee on Committees, UIUC Senate, 2016-2017; Chair, Campus Budget Model Components Working Group, 2016-2017; Chair, Search Committee, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Science, UIUC, 2016; Chair, Campus Instructional Space Advisory Committee, 2013-14, 2014-15; and UIUC Facilities & Services Oversight Committee, 2011-12, 2012-13, 2013-14, 2014-15.

## Jennifer Monson (FAA)

Jennifer Monson uses choreographic practice as a means to discover connections between environmental, philosophical, and aesthetic approaches to knowledge and understandings of our surroundings. As Artistic Director of iLAND (interdisciplinary Laboratory for Art Nature Dance), she creates large-scale dance projects informed and inspired by phenomena of the natural and the built environment. Her projects include BIRD BRAIN (2000-2006), iMAP/Ridgewood Reservoir (2007), Mahomet Aquifer Project (2009), SIP (sustained immersive process)/watershed (2010), Live Dancing Archive (2012-14), and in tow (2014-16). Monson has been on the faculty at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign since 2008 and was a Marsh Professor at Large at the University of Vermont (2010-16). She served on the executive committee of the School of Fine and Applied Arts from 2008-2010 and serves currently on the Senate.

# **Christopher M. Span (EDUC)**

Christopher M. Span, Department of Education Policy, Organization, and Leadership, College of Education, received his baccalaureate, master, and doctorate from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His research interests pertain to the educational history of African Americans in the 19th and 20th century. He is past co-editor of the *History of Education Quarterly*, the number one journal in his field. He is the Vice President of Division F (History and Historiography) for the American Educational Research Association (AERA). He is one of two faculty athletics representatives at Illinois, has served on a number of Chancellor-or Provost-appointed committees, including the Campus Budget Oversight Committee (CBOC) and the Committee on Race and Ethnicity (CORE), and has an extensive service record across campus, the Champaign-Urbana community, his profession, discipline, and state. His efforts have built bridges and partnerships that have enhanced the overall profile of the university.