UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE Senate Executive Committee

(Final: Antion)

(Final; Action)

SC.19.04 Election of Three Student Members to the Committee on Committees

BACKGROUND

The Committee shall consist of three senators who are members of the student electorate, with no two from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit, and at least one of whom shall be an undergraduate and at least one of whom shall be a graduate or professional student.

There are no continuing student members of the Committee on Committees.

Nominations for the Committee on Committees shall be made by the incumbent Senate Executive Committee. Nominations may also be made for student committee positions by student senators. Each nomination shall be accompanied by the consent of the nominee and a short statement of interest and experience. Nominees must be senators at the time the committee term begins.

NOMINATIONS

The following student members (statement of interest and experience attached) are nominated to fill three annual student vacancies. The three people with the highest number of votes will be declared elected (with no two from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit).

Joe Edwards	GRAD
Mrinaal Mittal	ENGR
Ryan Schiffer	ENGR

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Bettina Francis, Chair Nancy O'Brien, Vice Chair Nicholas Burbules Shawn Gilmore Kim Graber Sam LeRoy William Maher Gay Miller Scott Morris Bryan Parthum Rahul Raju Jeff Stein Mark Steinberg Matthew Wheeler

Nominations from the floor must be senators at the time the committee term begins and must include the nominee's willingness to serve along with a short statement of interest and experience. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.

STUDENT STATEMENTS OF INTEREST AND EXPERIENCE

Joe Edwards (GRAD)

I am interested in serving on the Committee on Committees for the UC Academic Senate to serve my university in determining those best suited to participate in the committees of the Senate. During my time as an undergraduate at this university, I served as a leader in student organizations and a member of university committees like the Illinois Climate Action Plan (iCAP) Working Group. As a graduate student in the Program for Ecology, Evolution, and Conservation Biology, I am serving as an ISG and UC senator. These experiences have taught me the value of utilizing individual expertise in working toward a shared group goal. As a member of the Committee on Committees, I hope to further highlight talented individuals in achieving the ambitious goals of the University of Illinois.

Mrinaal Mittal (ENGR)

Mrinaal Mittal is a junior in College of Engineering majoring in Computer Science and ILEE (Innovation, Leadership and Engineering Entrepreneurship), along with minors in Business and South Asian Studies. 2018-19 will be his second year as a Senator in the UC Senate. Outside of the ISG, he is the President of NOBE Illinois (National Organization for Business and Engineering), and a Senior Manager in EntreCORPS. He was involved in the UC Senate Committees on Lighting, Commencement and OSPA in the 2017-18 session. He hopes to be further involved in the UC Senate through the Committees.

Ryan Schiffer (ENGR)

After being approached by student senator Annalisa Roncone last year to participate on the UC Senate Committee on Committees, I accepted not knowing exactly the scope of my work or duties. Now, being elected and having served for almost a year, I have grown to very much enjoy being a member of the Committee on Committees, a group that organizes and fills senate bodies, ensuring fair, qualified, and unbiased representation on committees. I believe the work I've completed so far has been that of grit and humility with consistent consideration for confidentiality and fair representation. With a year of experience under my belt, I am looking forward to the possibility of leading the undergraduate portion of this committee in the coming 2018-19 academic year.