Senate of the Urbana-Champaign Campus

Academic Calendars Agendas & Minutes CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degrees Senate/SEC Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members Senator Guide

March 11, 2002


University Statutes and Senate Procedures
(Second Reading;Action)

SP.00.05 Proposed Revisions to the Statutes, Article II, Section 4 - Faculty Advisory Committee


On November 1, 1999, the UIUC Senate approved SP.00.05, which limited membership on the campus Faculty Advisory Committee (FAC) to tenured faculty. UI-Chicago (UIC) adopted the same language, but since UI-Springfield (UIS) has a much smaller pool of tenured faculty, they felt this statutory amendment severely restricted their ability to procure nominees and members of their FAC.

As a result, University Senates Conference (USC) proposed the language below, which allows each campus to determine its own eligibility requirements for its respective Faculty Advisory Committee. Both UIS and UIC have approved this language verbatim.


The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends approval of the following revisions to the Statutes. Text to be deleted is in [square brackets] and text to be added is underscored.


Faculty advice and recommendations on University governance are traditionally provided to the administration through standing and ad hoc committees and representation in the senate. In addition, at each campus the faculty shall elect a Faculty Advisory Committee. The committee shall consist of nine faculty members on the Chicago and Urbana-Champaign campuses, three of whom shall be elected each year. The committee shall consist of seven faculty members on the Springfield campus, two of whom shall be elected each year and the seventh every third year. The three-year terms will commence on the first day of the academic year following the election.

[Any member of the Faculty Advisory Committee electorate shall be eligible for membership on the committee except those who hold an administrative appointment.] Each campus senate shall determine eligibility for membership on the Faculty Advisory Committee for its campus from among the members of the Faculty Advisory Committee electorate, excluding those who hold administrative appointments. Any eligible person may be nominated as a committee member by a petition signed by three members of the electorate and filed with the clerk or secretary of the senate.

The deadline for filing shall be set by each campus senate. The clerk or secretary of the senate shall conduct the election [by university mail] as soon as possible thereafter. The [three eligible nominees] eligible nominees for the number of seats to be filled receiving the highest number of votes shall be declared elected. If vacancies arise between regular elections, the eligible nominee with the next highest number of votes at the most recent election shall be declared a member of the committee. In the absence of any such nominee willing and able to serve, the vacancy shall be filled at the next regular election.

Joseph Finnerty, Chair
Lanny Arvan
Sara Bokhari
Karen Chapman-Novakofski
Michael Cooper
David Sisson
Charles Tabb
Robert C. Damrau, ex officio
Thomas M. Eakman, Observer
Kathleen Pecknold, ex officio (designee)
Vera V. Mainz (PAC Liaison)