University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate

Academic Calendars CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degree Awards SEC Meeting Schedule Senate Agendas & Minutes Senate Meeting Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members Senator Guide

March 20, 2000


Committee on Committees
(Final - Action)

CC.00.08 Senate Approval of Nominations for the Athletic Board


The Athletic Board includes seven faculty members and one student member who are appointed by the Chancellor from nominations submitted by the Urbana-Champaign Senate. (The Chancellor also appoints one student each from nominations from the Student Athlete Advisory Board and the Illinois Student Government.) Terms of faculty ordinarily shall be four years; terms of students ordinarily shall be one year, with the possibility of reappointment for an additional year. The term of one faculty member, Matthew Wheeler, and student member Richard Stockton, expire at the end of the annual meeting of the Athletic Board in the summer of 2000. Continuing members of the Athletic Board and the expiration of their terms are as follows:

Faculty:		John B. Braden		ACES	2001
			Barrington Coleman	FAA	2001
			Lawrence M. DeBrock	CBA	2003
			J. Fred Giertz		CBA	2002
			William D. O'Brien, Jr.	ENGR	2003
			Joyce Wright		LIBR	2002

The Committee on Committees recommends approval of the following slate of nominees. (Biographical information pertaining to each nominee is attached.)


To fill one faculty position for term expiring in 2004:
		Matthew B. Wheeler	ACES
		Donald J. Wuebbles	LAS

Thomas F. Conry, Chair
Meredith Blumthal
Paul F. Byrne
Karen Chapman-Novakofski
Elizabeth Delacruz
J. Fred Giertz
Robert Sala
James G. Ward

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.